Research

Environmental Science

The Department of Environmental Science aims to enhance its profile locally and globally as a leading research-intensive department that advances knowledge and produces high-quality graduates to meet the challenges of environmental change in China. We aim to gain recognition as a leading environmental science research provider in Jiangsu Province and beyond.

Research strategy

Research within the Department is primarily devoted to questions of fundamental importance, but also includes applied research relevant locally, nationally, and internationally. Our research is interdisciplinary in nature, and we aim to embrace disciplines outside the department and combine expertise from other complementary departments. We play a key role in contributing to the overall research strategy of XJTLU. As opportunities arise both within and outside of XJTLU, we would anticipate contributing to other themes. To achieve our aims we will:

  • Draw on the interdisciplinary nature of environmental science to carry out fundamental and applied research in areas of established strengths. We will also seek out emerging opportunities, both internally and externally
  • Attract and retain world-class academic staff to engage in cutting-edge research activity. Staff recruitment will be primarily driven by our research agenda. We also aim to recruit high-quality undergraduate and postgraduate students
  • Secure local, national and international funding to carry out fundamental and applied research
  • Provide the infrastructure and services essential to support the training of undergraduate and graduate students and to conduct leading-edge research
  • Engage with academic and industrial partners within and outside of XJTLU to promote and support interdisciplinary research, research networking and research collaborations
  • Promote our research locally, nationally and internationally through publications in high-impact journals and presentations at strategic internationally recognised conferences.

Current strengths and emerging research opportunities

The Department currently has a range of research strengths, most of which fall within the overall research theme of contemporary Chinese environmental issues in water and on land. Current research strengths include:

  • Fresh water ecology
  • Soil ecology
  • GIS and remote sensing
  • Water quality
  • Sediment dynamics
  • Global change ecology

We are committed to maintaining our core research focus on contemporary environmental issues in China, but will be flexible and open to opportunities that may arise locally, nationally or internationally. Our research areas complement those of other departments so we anticipate increasing our interdisciplinary collaborations within XJTLU, mainly facilitated by cross-department institutions such as the Research Institute for Urbanisation.

科研

环境科学系

我系在当地和国际范围内声誉不断提高,以打造研究密集型系部为目标,加快知识进步和培养能积极应对中国环境变化挑战的高质量人才。我们希望能够作为环境科学研究领导者获得江苏省内外及更大范围的认可。

研究策略

环境科学系主要致力于基础性问题研究,同时开展与当地、国内和国际的应用型问题相关的研究。我系的跨学科研究本质促使我们综合系外配套学科的专业知识,开展合作。我系对西交利物浦大学的整体研究策略意义重大。面对校内外涌现的多种机遇,我系将积极参与各项主题研究。向着这一目标,我们将:

  • 利用环境科学固有的跨学科特性,在现有优势领域开展基础型和应用型研究,努力抓住内外部新生机遇
  • 吸引并留住世界一流学术人员参与尖端研究项目。以研究日程为导向招募工作人员,同时保证本科生和研究生招生质量
  • 保证地方、国家和国际的资金支持,以确保基础型和应用型研究开展
  • 为培养本科生、研究生和开展尖端研究提供必需的基础设施和服务支持
  • 同校内外学术、工业伙伴通力合作,促进和支持跨学科研究、研究网络化及研究合作
  • 通过在具有重大影响力的学术期刊上发表论文,以及在战略性国际认可的大型会议上进行学术展示,促进我系在地方、国家和国际层面的学术研究

现有优势和新兴研究机遇

我系目前研究优势众多,其中大多数围绕当代中国水资源和土地资源环境问题的整体研究主题。具体研究优势包括:

  • 淡水生态学
  • 土壤生态学
  • 地理信息系统和遥感
  • 水质研究
  • 沉积动力学
  • 全球变化生态学

我系坚持以当代中国环境问题为核心研究,同时灵活开放地关注当地、国内和国际上出现的研究机遇。我系研究领域与其他系部研究形成互补,因此可以在城市化研究院等跨系部研究院的支持下,更加积极地参与校内跨学科合作