About

Industrial Design

The Department of Industrial Design focusses on user-centred product and systems design for society in response to social, cultural, and technical context. We aim to educate a new generation of industrial and product designers who able to understand and participate in China's ongoing social, cultural, and economic transformation through achieving a balance of creative and technical knowledge and competencies.

Our programmes' educational emphases rests on the principles of new product development including aesthetic sensitivity, human-oriented responsibility, technological and engineering competence, user research as well as on social, cultural, and economic awareness, with a view to enabling people and communities to live desirable futures.

Growth in China will re-define patterns of consumption, production, and cultural appropriation domestically and globally for generations to come. As China-based companies shift to a designed-in-China strategy and international companies seek to design for the Chinese market, career opportunities for graduates of our programmes should be numerous. Students will be able to choose careers that are more artistically focused or technically focused, depending on their interest, or pursue advanced degrees in either area. Undergraduate students from the department will receive a BEng Industrial Design degree through a globally focused industrial design programme that draws on best practices and current trends.

"We invite prospective students and collaborators to join our efforts to create an international hub for cutting-edge design education, technology innovation and research."
Derrick Tate, Head of Department

概况

工业设计系

工业设计系专注于用户为中心的产品和系统设计,响应当前社会、文化、技术的诉求。我们希望培养新一代的工业设计师和产品设计师,理解和参与到中国的社会、文化、经济发展当中,并在创新型、技术和竞争力等方面达到平衡。

我系各专业的培养重心在新产品开发理论,如审美敏感性、用户响应、技术与工程竞争力、用户研究,以及响应社会/文化/经济因素,培养学生对未来趋势和需求的预判能力。

中国的快速发展将会重新定义消费、需求、生产以及新世代的国内外文化产业支出。越来越多的中国公司正在从“中国制造”转型为“中国智造(设计)”,越来越多的跨国公司也在加大针对中国市场的设计比重。因此,我系毕业生就业前景非常乐观;学生可以根据自己的兴趣和特长选择自己的职业发展方向:更加设计主导或者更加技术主导,或者继续深造。我系本科毕业生将获得工业设计工学学位,接受一系列整合了本专业最佳实践和最新趋势的课程和训练。

"我们欢迎有意愿的学生和外部合作伙伴加入我们,共同创造一个国际化环境,开展最新、最先进的教学、技术创新和科研。"
Derrick Tate, 工业设计系系主任