Industry, business and community

Department of Industrial Design

The Department of Industrial Design collaborates with industry to create new and innovative designs and technologies, supporting inventors, entrepreneurs, and enterprises in Suzhou and beyond to assess novel design concepts. We partner with them in the research, design, development, and commercialisation necessary for realising their technologies, as they shift to a designed-in-China strategy.

If you’re in industry, there a three main ways in which to collaborate with the department:

Student internships

Students on our undergraduate programme have the opportunity to take part in industrial internships, offering them real-world work experience through which to build industry knowledge and contacts. The companies that host our students benefit from employing some of the very brightest new talents in industrial design in China. Our students are taught by a multidisciplinary, international team of academic staff and have technological knowledge combined with excellent English language skills and a global perspective. Their knowledge of China, as well as cutting-edge technical skills, mean they are a huge asset to any company looking to employ people who can positively impact their production and R+D.

Real-world projects

Students on our undergraduate programme have multiple opportunities to work on real-world projects, either as part of their three-month design studio modules or as part of their final-year project. These real projects are submitted directly by companies who seek to gain cost-effective support for their R+D activities. Students benefit from working on projects with real stakeholders who have real market needs and technological constraints, while companies are able to take advantage of our students’ unique, international perspectives.

Staff collaboration

Our multidisciplinary, international team of academic staff have a wealth of practical and professional industrial design experience and can collaborate on short- or long-term consultative projects with industry. These projects may benefit from research grant funding, as well as the new perspective that those working in academia can bring.

Contact

If you’re in industry and are interested in any of the above opportunities, do get in touch.

行业、商业和社区

工业设计系

工业设计系与业界密切合作,探索创新的设计和技术,支持投资者、创业者、当地及国内外企业进行概念设计评估,并与他们展开科研、设计、开发、技术商业化应用等方面的合作,帮助企业向“中国智造(设计)”转型。

如果您是业界人士,欢迎通过以下方式与我系交流合作:

学生实习

我系鼓励本科生参与业界实习,增加实践经验、对产业的了解并拓展联系。我系学生在工业设计领域的灵感和才干也会对实习单位有所裨益。工业设计系跨学科、国际化的师资队伍致力于学生的教育培养,使得学生具备良好的技术基础、英语沟通能力和全球化视野。我系学生对当下中国工业设计产业现状的了解以及对当前世界前沿技术的掌握,非常契合那些寻求设计、生产和研发相关人才的企业。

实践项目

我系鼓励本科生参与实践项目,可作为其为期三个月的设计工作室课程的一部分,或作为其毕业设计的一部分。该类型项目可由希望通过较经济的方式获得研发支持的公司提议,我系学生可从中了解真实的市场需求和技术局限,实现校企双赢。

产学研合作

我系跨学科、国际化的学术团队有着丰富的工业设计实践与经验,可与业界进行短期或长期的咨询合作项目。部分合作项目有机会获得相关科研经费和学术界的新视角。

联系我们

如果您是业界人士并有意向与我系进行合作,欢迎联系我们