Our PhD students

Urban Planning and Design

A Design Research on Adaptive Architecture that can facilitate the Construction of Beautiful Villages in China

It is important to preserve the local ‘townscape’ in the construction of Beautiful Villages that has become the priority of the integrated urban-rural development in China. This project aims to provide an insight into this, using methods and techniques for design research and research by design. Some important design thinking/concepts (including Adaptive Architecture, Vernacular Architecture, Sustainable Design, and Collaborative Design and so on) and emerging technologies (e.g. prefabrication, Virtual Reality, etc.) will be studied in order to address above concerns from an integrated perspective. The anticipated output is about a design guidance on using prefabricated and adaptable building fabrics to facilitate collaborative design/regeneration of vernacular architecture and thereby preserve the local townscape in a sustainable manner. And its effectiveness will be further verified through prototyping in Virtual/Augmented Reality (VR/AR) or onsite physical models, followed by in-depth surveys, based on cases located in Yunnan Province.

Nan Yang

Nan Yang is a PhD candidate in the School of Architecture, University of Liverpool (UoL), but based off-site at Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University (XJTLU). He also teaches at Soochow University's architecture studio as a guest tutor. His research interest lies in adaptive design methods for vernacular architecture. Before his PhD study, he received MSc in Architecture from Delft University of Technology with an outstanding master thesis and BA (Hons) in Architecture from XJTLU/UoL with first class. He also has work experience in practice including a recent one at MVRDV. As an architect, Nan’s profile includes design and research projects in China, Netherlands and the UK. He was also accredited LEED AP, BD+C from USGBC in 2017.

Supervising team

Publications

  • Koeck Richard, Chen B. (translate), Sun X.F. (translate) and Yang N. (translate), “Filmic Tectonics of Space”. Architectural Journal, 09, 2012, 80-85. [http://www.cqvip.com/QK/94827X/201209/43161465.html]
  • Yang N. and Chen B. (2017) “Adaptive architecture using prefabracition technology: a design research on the future vernacular architecture in Yunnan Province” (Oral Presentation). Proceedings of 2017 Forum on Academic Innovation for Posgraducates in Jiangsu Province – Digital+ cities under change in the Yangtze River Delta. Suzhou, Suzhou University of Science and Technology, 17 December 2017. P22-61.

End-user Centred Participatory Design for Community-based Healthcare Environments in China

This research focuses on healthcare design at community-based level, according to the shift of the national healthcare service in China from a “centralised” pattern to a “decentralised” one. Social research methods are applied to explore stakeholders’ understanding about the satisfaction and needs for community-based healthcare environments from a perspective of end-users (e.g. patients and medical staff). A pilot model End-user Centred Participatory Design for Community-based Healthcare Environments is proposed finally, in order to improve the holistic design quality of community-based medical facilities and social sustainability of the design regulations that are designated for healthcare environments in China.

Qichao Ban

Qichao Ban is an architectural researcher, studying with a range of subject areas: Evidence-based Design for Healthcare Environment; Design Strategies for Healthy Building; Sustainability Assessment Methods; Building Information Modelling (BIM); Design-aided Tool Development. Previously, he received two master degrees in Sustainable Building Technology from University of Nottingham (MSc) and in Architectural Design and Theory from Shandong Jianzhu University (MEng).

Supervising team

Publications

  • Ban, Q., Chen, B., Sharples, S. & Phiri, M. (2016). An applied research on evidence-based design principles in healthcare environment. Chinese Hospital Architecture & Equipment. 10 p. 95-100.
  • Ban, Q., Chen, B., Gelun, Sharples, S. & Phiri, M. (2016). A study on architectural design tools and sustainability assessment standards of the healthcare environment. Architectural Journal. 578 (11) p. 99-103.

博士生

城市规划与设计系

能辅助中国美丽乡村建设的自适应建筑设计研究

近年来,在特色小镇和美丽乡村的发展引导下,乡土建筑变得同质化,乡村风貌由于建造手段的传承被打破、传统建筑的消失而改变。本次研究旨在通过设计研究和研究式设计的方法探索乡土建筑设计中的解决方案,研究讲围绕适应性建筑、乡土建筑、可持续设计和参与式设计等设计理念进行展开并结合新的建造技术进行实践。研究的预期成果将是一份设计导则,讨论如何在乡土建筑设计中平衡社会性、功能性和可持续性,在新的乡村建筑实践中保护乡村风貌。而随后这份设计导则也会通过原型设计进行一系列基于在云南本土建设的检验修正。

杨楠

杨楠现为利物浦大学博士生并就读于西交利物浦大学,同时兼任苏州大学建筑系外聘讲师。他的研究方向是自适应性建筑在乡土建筑的设计研究。读博之前,杨楠获得英国利物浦大学一等学位建筑学荣誉学士,荷兰代尔夫特理工大学建筑学硕士。杨楠拥有在中国、英国和荷兰的设计实践经历,回国前曾就职于荷兰MVRDV建筑及规划设计事务所,于2017年获得美国绿色建筑LEED认证专员。

研究团队

出版目录

  • Koeck Richard,陈冰(译),孙晓峰(译),杨楠(译). 空间的影像构造【J】.建筑学报. 2012,(09):80-85. [http://www.cqvip.com/QK/94827X/201209/43161465.html]
  • 杨楠,陈冰(2017),装配式技术在自适应性建筑的应用:关于乡土建筑的未来的设计研究,‘数字+’与变化的长三角城市,江苏省研究生学术创新论坛,会议论文集p22-61

中国社区医疗环境以用户为中心的参与式设计研究

以中国医疗改革所提出的城市医疗机构整体规划由“集中式”布局改为“分散式”布局为背景,本研究聚焦于社区级别的医疗环境设计,并采用一系列社会研究方法,选取最终用户(例如患者及医护人员)的角度获得该类人群对于社区医疗环境设计的认知、满意度及整体需求等数据。研究最终通过建立名为“社区医疗环境以用户为中心的参与式设计”的试验模型,针对如何提高社区级别医疗机构的整体设计品质、以及相关医疗建筑环境设计规范的可持续性,从社会层面提出了相应的优化建议。

班淇超

班淇超,从事建筑学领域的研究,包括:医疗环境的循证设计;健康建筑设计策略;建筑可持续评价方法;建筑信息模型(BIM);设计辅助工具开发。读博之前,获得英国诺丁汉大学可持续建筑技术以及山东建筑大学建筑设计及其理论双硕士学位。

研究团队

出版目录

  • 班淇超,陈冰,Sharples S.,Phiri M. 循证设计策略在医疗建筑环境领域的应用研究【J】. 中国医院建筑与装备,2016 (10),95-100.
  • 班淇超,陈冰,格伦,斯蒂芬·沙普尔斯,迈克尔·菲利. 医疗建筑环境设计辅助工具与可持续评价标准的研究【J】. 建筑学报,2016 (11),99-103.