Certificate in Professional Studies

Academic Enhancement Centre

The Certificate in Professional Studies in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education [CPS] aims to provide XJTLU teaching staff an introduction to the knowledge and skills needed to support student learning through interactive workshops and a variety of assessment tasks. It is designed principally to help with your professional development, to enable you to reflect on your role as a teacher at XJTLU, and to enable you to enhance your students’ learning experience.

CPS also provides you with the opportunity to interact with other teaching staff at XJTLU, and gain some knowledge of the University’s quality assurance and enhancement processes. The programme is accredited by the Higher Education Academy.

All staff are strongly encouraged to participate in this programme if they do not already have similar qualifications or significant prior teaching experience. Exemption from the normal expectation to complete all or part of the CPS can only be approved by your head of department in consultation with the CPS programme director.

Successful completion of CPS will entitle you to Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy, which can enhance your CV. It is also possible that having done the CPS you will be exempt from having to undertake a similar mandatory programme if you move to another university.

The programme:

  • Provides an introduction to both the knowledge and the skills needed to support student learning at the University
  • Supports all academic staff in their teaching role, and develops and enhances their teaching skills, knowledge and understanding of learning and teaching in higher education
  • Introduces academic staff to the opportunities for linking excellence in research with high-quality teaching and to the strategies and governance of a research intensive university
  • Assists in the development of academic staff as reflective practitioners, and as higher education professionals.

For more information on the programme visit the XJTLU online portal.

高等教育教学专业研究证书

学术提升中心

高等教育教学专业研究证书(CPS)旨在通过互动工作室和多样化的评估任务,为西交利物浦大学的教学人员提供帮助学生学习所需要的知识和技能介绍。这一证书可促进教学人员的专业发展,帮助其不断反思作为教师的职责,从而更有效地帮助学生丰富学习经验。

高等教育教学专业研究证书(CPS)为教学人员之间的交流互动创造机会,使教学人员更好地了解大学教学质量保证和强化过程。我校颁发的CPS证书已获得英国高等教育学院(HEA)认证。

成功取得高等教育教学专业研究证书(CPS)的培训人员将获得“高等教育学院奖学金”,从而为自身简历增加砝码。取得高等教育教学专业研究证书(CPS)后,教学人员若转而去另一所大学工作,亦可免除参加类似的必修项目。

该项目可:

  • 为教学人员提供帮助学生学习所需要的知识和技能介绍
  • 支持教学人员的教学工作,提高与加强教学水平、知识,增进对高等教育教学的理解
  • 使教学人员有机会将杰出研究与高质量教学相结合,将杰出研究与研究型大学的管理相结合
  • 帮助教学人员成长为反思型实践者和高等教育专家

更多项目信息,请访问西交利物浦大学Portal网站。