MSc Civil Engineering

Find a programme

Overview

The MSc Civil Engineering programme incorporates all of the contemporary key elements of engineering design in the built environment. During their studies, students extend their knowledge and develop a high level of skills in the fields of engineering structures, construction management, geotechnical engineering and innovative construction materials. Students in this programme are educated in the theoretical aspects of the recent advances in those fields, whilst also acquiring a professional approach to the solution of technical problems.

The MSc Civil Engineering programme embraces research-led teaching, where the students are actively engaged by accomplishing technical tasks, either in the form of group work or individual projects. The programme places a great emphasis on independent critical thinking, which is a key feature for the development of professional engineering insight.

This full-time 18-month programme comprises two semesters of taught modules, assessed by coursework and examination, followed by a research dissertation during your third semester. All the modules are delivered by international academic staff who specialise in sustainability and civil engineering. Graduates of this programme, as with all XJTLU masters degrees, earn a University of Liverpool degree that is recognised by the Chinese Ministry of Education.

Accreditation

This degree is accredited by Joint Board of Moderators (JBM) as meeting the requirements for Further Learning for a Chartered Engineer (CEng) for candidates who have already acquired a partial CEng accredited undergraduate first degree.

See www.jbm.org.uk for further information and details of Further Learning programmes for CEng.

Modules

Our graduates gain highly theoretical and professional specialised knowledge and are able to solve technical problems of great complexity. Within the context of the programme’s modules, the students learn to assess and evaluate technical problems and implement simple yet efficient techniques, adopting a professional approach.

Careers

The MSc Civil Engineering programme provides an advanced level of knowledge, which allows our graduates to obtain employment across the industry. Upon graduation, students are ready to follow a professional career as consultants in the construction industry, managers on construction sites, as well as in public authorities such as water management and infrastructure facilities. More specifically, graduates of this programme can be employed as structural engineers, geotechnical engineers, hydraulic and hydrologic engineers, quantity surveyors and quality managers.

The MSc Civil Engineering programme can be used as Further Learning, the final element of the educational base for being a chartered engineer (CEng).

Fees

Scholarships

XJTLU offers a generous scholarship of up to 50 percent of the total tuition fee for all full-time masters programmes based on academic merit. Should you wish to apply for XJTLU master scholarship, please submit a scholarship application letter in your application stating the reasons why you should be considered.

Entry requirements

Minimum entry requirements

UK

Upper second class (2:1) honours

China

  • 1st tier universities: 75 percent or above
  • 2nd tier universities: 80 percent or above

Note: Chinese applicants are not required to take the MoE postgraduate entrance exam.

North America

3.0 Cumulative GPA (out of 4) or 3.2 Cumulative GPA in the final two years of your undergraduate programme

Other regions

Equivalent academic qualifications

Academic background

An undergraduate degree (UK 2:1 or equivalent) in a relevant field such as civil engineering or a related programme.

English language requirements

If English is not your native language or if you have not studied in English at degree level, you will need to provide evidence of your English proficiency. You should normally possess one of the following qualifications:

  • IELTS: 6.5 (minimum of 5.5 in all sections)
  • TOEFL iBT: 90 (minimum of 21 in any skill)

In exceptional circumstances, individual cases will be considered on their own merits. You may be required to attend interviews or tests to further demonstrate your English proficiency.

If you miss the English language requirements by 0.5-1.0 of an IELTS band, or a similar number for other English language exams, you can be admitted to the programme after successful completion of our four- or six-week intensive English presessional course.

You can also apply to take the XJTLU English language test in lieu of an IELTS/TOEFL or equivalent. Based on the score, students may be admitted or may be required to take and successfully complete the four- or six-week intensive English presessional course.

Additionally, students may be required to complete English language courses on a pass/fail basis as part of the additional learning activity requirement during their studies at XJTLU.

How to apply

Applications should be submitted via our online application system:

  1. Click/tap the APPLY link
  2. Create an account or log in to your existing account
  3. Complete your application

Once your application account is successfully created, enter all the information required in the application form carefully and make sure the information you provide is correct, complete and up to date. Upload the required documents to the corresponding fields.

You may log-in to view your application form at any time and upload any remaining supporting documents.

For further details of how to successfully apply to study at XJTLU, please visit the how to apply page.

土木工程硕士

搜索专业

概览

土木工程理科硕士课程包括了建筑环境领域最主要的一些非常现代的工程设计要素。在硕士课程的学习过程中,学生不仅能够扩展知识面而且能够在工程结构、施工管理、土力工程和新型建筑材料方面更加深入的学习、掌握更加深厚的技能。在学习过程中,学生既可以学习到相关方面的理论知识,又可以锻炼如何用专业的方法解决工作中遇到的技术问题。

本专业采用以研究为导向的研讨式教学方式,引导学生积极主动的参与到学习过程中来解决学习中遇到的困难。同时,学生还有机会与团队一起完成指定项目或者独立完成指定项目。此外,本专业非常注重培养学生独立思考能力和批判性思维的发展,以锻炼其洞悉未来专业和职业发展的洞察力。

本专业全日制课程周期为18个月,由两个学期的课程教学(教学评估方式为课程作业和考试)和最后一个学期的研究论文构成。所有课程教学均来自于专门研究可持续性和可持续建筑的国际化学术团队。

本专业毕业生将获得经中国教育部认证的利物浦大学硕士学位。

机构认证

本专业学位获得了英国工程委员会监管机构(Joint Board of Moderators, JBM)认证,专业课程满足了申请英国特许工程师CEng认证所需的“继续学习”课程要求(申请人需先获得部分CEng认证的本科第一学位)。

点击www.jbm.org.uk了解具体信息和完成特许工程师CEng认证所需“继续学习”课程。

课程

本专业毕业生会学到全面深入的理论知识以及专业知识,能够解决复杂的技术问题。学生会学习如何评估问题,并且如何运用简单有效的技术解决问题,这种方式对于学生的未来职业发展是非常必要的。

就业

土木工程理科硕士学位会教授更加深入的理论知识,极大的提高毕业生的雇佣价值从而扩展其就业面。毕业生可以从事的职业包括建筑行业咨询师、施工经理、以及政府部门,比如水资源管理和公共设施建设管理。更具体的说,本专业的毕业生能过从事结构工程师、土力工程师、水力和水文工程师、工程造价工程师以及质量监控经理等职位。

土木工程硕士学位的完成能够满足申请英国特许工程师CEng认证所需的“继续学习”课程要求。

费用

奖学金

西交利物浦大学为录取者提供充裕奖学金,优秀学生可获得高达50%的学费优惠。如需申请西交利物浦大学研究生项目奖学金,请在申请材料中附奖学金申请书,并阐明申请优势与获奖理由。

录取要求

英国:

  • 二级甲等荣誉学位或以上

中国:

  • 本1类大学:75%或以上
  • 本2类大学:80%或以上

注:中国申请者不需参加教育部组织的全国研究生统考

北美:

  • GPA成绩3.0(总分4)或者本科最后2年的GPA成绩为3.2

其他地区:

  • 同等学力

学术背景

  • 本科专业为土木工程或相关专业。

英语要求

非英语母语学生及本科非英语教学的学生需提供英语能力证明。本专业要求语言能力达到:

  • 雅思: 6.5及以上 (且各项成绩均不低于5.5)
  • 托福iBT: 90 (且各项成绩均不低于21)

在特殊情况下,我们将根据申请者具体情况个别考虑。申请者可能需要通过面试或测试以证明自身英语能力。
低于雅思成绩要求0.5-1.0分以内(或在其他语言测试中有类似情况)的申请者,可在顺利完成我校4或6周英语预科学习后录取入校。
申请者也可申请参加西交利物浦英语测试,以替代相应的雅思/托福测试。根据考试得分,申请者可获直接录取,或在顺利完成我校4或6周英语预科学习后录取入校。

此外,作为西交利物浦大学附加学习活动要求的一部分,学生可能需完成英语课程,成绩分为“通过”或“不通过”。

如何申请

请查看如何申请了解更多有关申请的信息。