22

BA Filmmaking

Find a programme

Overview

The BA Filmmaking is a scripted-drama, and documentary practical film-making programme aimed at those who are passionate about storytelling in film. It is a rich and challenging environment for students who are keen to develop their storytelling skills to the highest level and have the passion to produce and develop new and exciting film content.

Taught within the Film School at XJTLU in Suzhou, the BA Filmmaking is a practice-based programme in all aspects of filmmaking, from the development of film craft skills, directing, producing and writing short and long form content for film.

The course also has critical thinking and film literacy at its core, with workshops and seminars designed to build your ability to appreciate what has gone before as you craft the stories of the future.

You will benefit from extensive industry contact, which can include working on live professional sets, becoming part of the crew on a professional production, masterclasses and expert tuition from industry practitioners. We’ll help you to develop your ideas and your creativity to the highest level, as well as offering you the opportunity to make films and tell stories.

This programme is not available on the 2+2 route.

Why should I study Filmmaking at XJTLU?

The development of the School of Film and Television Arts was built on the departmental research strengths in Languages, Communication and Culture. The new programme along with the Film and Television and Digital Media Arts undergraduate degrees will focus on a mix of practice, analysis, research, creativity and industry engagement.

The distinctiveness of the programme is further enhanced by its environment. Suzhou and the Suzhou Industrial Park (SIP) is a blend of the old, the new and the future. Suzhou will be the canvas the filmmakers will work upon showcasing its beauty whilst the SIP will allow filmmakers to come into contact with vibrant industry practitioners, creative researchers and dynamic businesses.

Practice-based interdisciplinary learning

Taught by a mix of international and Chinese talent from academia and the film and television industries students will be taught in a syntegrative way where theory, practice and industry meet in the classroom and on location. The thinking will be strong as will the craft skills and knowledge of the developments in the industry at a local, national and international level. The School has an ambitious plan to develop international partnerships within both education and industry. There will be opportunities for other film students to spend a semester on exchange, co-productions between the SoFTA film school and others in China and internationally.

XJTLU will also offer the filmmaking students the opportunity to work with like-minded students from other parts of the University. The innovative teaching practice promoted by the University will create an environment where students can benefit from the expertise and practice of other disciplines whilst specialising on their own training. Collaboration will be a core component of the new degree programme and could see the filmmaking students work with students from Industrial Design (including special FX model work), Architecture students (projects such as ‘Cityscape’ where students from filmmaking and architecture collaborate on a short visual piece of work about a local building), China Studies students to identify historical or local stories to be dramatised or made into documentaries. The potential is great.

A complete one-stop-shop for filmmaking

Students will also be taught using state of the art equipment ranging from RED and Arri Alexa camera systems to allow 4/5k shooting potential, AVID Media Composer editing systems, DaVinci Resolve software for colour grading, Protools for post-production audio, After FX and 3D Studio Max for special FX, professional dubbing and sound recording facilities, 4k rushes review facility, viewing cinema. The students will also have access to professional grip equipment, drones, jibs and jimmy jibs, track and dolly. All equipment used will be industry standard and in line with current industry practices.

The projects originated will be a mix of location and studio based. The studio facilities will allow both drama and variety show production on both multi-camera and single camera formats as well as motion capture and green screen special FX work.

A unique offering within a unique learning environment

The film industry in the 21st century is global, collaborative and requires specialist training in a specialist environment, exactly what is being offered on the BA Filmmaking programme at XJTLU.

Qualification XJTLU BA Filmmaking University of Liverpool BA Filmmaking More about qualifications

Knowledge and skills

The overall aims of the programme are to:

  • familiarise students with a range of theoretical and methodological approaches to the study of the filmmaking and the filmmaking process
  • develop in students a critical approach to their own and others’ film productions
  • use theoretical understanding to inform practice and practice to inform theory
  • introduce students to the range of learning methods and methodological practices appropriate to the subject area
  • produce graduates with advanced and specialist skills in filmmaking
  • produce graduates with specific knowledge(s) of production techniques, research and routines/processes within the relevant film departments
  • produce graduates whose production work is informed by, and contextualised within, relevant theoretical issues and debates
  • develop in students a high level of communication skills in the presentation of critical, creative and professional work
  • produce graduates capable of independent and questioning work in the area of film production
  • gain specific knowledge(s) of and advanced and specialist skills in professional practices, contexts and research processes within the film production industries
  • develop excellence alongside high levels of reflection in in their own and in other’s practice in filmmaking
  • enable students to make a contribution in the world as artists, educators, advocates and citizens
  • enable students to take responsibility for managing and evaluating their own learning
  • foster the creative attitudes and skills needed for collaborative learning in and through practice.

Facilities

The facilities available to students continue to be developed on the South Campus. At the moment the students have access to facilities in the current humanities building including a digital training lab, lecture theatres, computer labs and meeting rooms. These rooms will continue to be utilised after the new facilities are completed. The new purpose built building will be in place before the first cohort of BA Filmmaking students begin their second year within the School.

The new facilities are based on good practice and modelled on international film schools. The building will have a mix of creative, professional and public spaces to allow the synergy of the filmmaking students with students from other disciplines, industry practitioners and the local community.

The facility will also have a creative zone where students can come together and propose projects to be carried out alongside their degree studies or as part of their work placement or ALA. This part of the facility will also be attractive to the local creative industries as they look for collaborative opportunities. The building will also house lecture and teaching facilities with theoretical and practical training taking place on the same site. It will facilitate every stage of a developing filmmaker’s journey from theory, idea development, planning, shooting, post-production and screening.

The building design will have a wonderful visual presence within the campus and become a focal point of Suzhou as it develops as a filmmaking location. The specific spaces range from medium and large shooting studios to offer indoor controllable locations and the space for green screen FX, model work and motion capture experimentation. There will be individual edit suites and finishing suites to allow basic post production through to professional graded and dubbed output ready for cinematic display. The building will also have specialized space for performers to allow rehearsal and teaching of actors as well as filmmakers. There will be production meeting spaces to allow the development and management of content ideas as well as a 250 seat cinema for viewing of student work both local and international as well as the screening of both Chinese and international cinema classics to student audiences.

Modules

Careers

The distinctive feature of the BA Filmmaking programme at XJTLU is in its principles of creative expression, technical and craft development along with strong problem solving and critical thinking. These transferable professional employability skills will enable students to gain work in the film and television industries as well as the converged areas of advertising and promo work for both the broadcast and online platforms.

Fees

How to apply

The BA in Filmmaking is a dynamic and international programme that aims to nurture your creative talent. For that reason, the admission process for this programme requires candidates to present evidence that reveal their creative abilities and their commitment to the field of filmmaking. In order to be admitted to our programme, we would like you to submit a creative portfolio with one of the following items:

  • 5 photographs that are personally important to you
  • A 1–3 minute video that means something special to you
  • A short animation piece that you have made and would like to discuss with us during the interview
  • Any drawings, sketches or paintings that you have done that illustrate your creative instinct
  • Any web design interest that you can demonstrate through web pages that you have produced
  • A piece of creative writing, such as a short story, a poem, or the chapter of a novel, that you have produced
  • Any song or music that you have composed
  • Any other creative media that demonstrate your creativity

After we study your portfolio, you will be invited for an application interview. We will discuss, amongst other topics, your portfolio and what inspired you to produce it, your favourite films and TV shows and the reasons why you like them, and what career trajectory you might have in mind.

All applicants interested in filmmaking need to also go through the regular XJTLU application process. Mainland Chinese candidates, please visit the how to apply page.

International applicants should submit their application via our online application system:

  1. Click/tap the APPLY link
  2. Create an account or log in to your existing account
  3. Complete your application

Once your application account is successfully created, enter all the information required in the application form carefully and make sure the information you provide is correct, complete and up to date. As mentioned, for application to the BA Filmmaking you are asked to submit a portfolio. Subsequently, you will be invited for an interview. However, please notice that you do not have to submit your portfolio during your initial application. The portfolio file can also be submitted later, after having completed and submitted the initial online application.

You may log-in to view your application form at any time.

For further details of how to successfully apply to study at XJTLU, please visit the how to apply page.

Note: This programme is subject to final validation from the University of Liverpool.

22

BA 影视摄影与制作​

搜索专业

概览

影视摄影与制作专业(学士)涵盖影视制作的理论与实践课程,面向对电影叙事充满热情的学生开设。对于那些力求提高故事讲述技巧,并热衷于创作优秀电影的学生而言,这将是一个充实并充满挑战的专业。

西浦影视艺术学院开设的影视摄影与制作专业,涵盖电影发展,导演技巧,制片到长短片剧本写作等全方位课程。该课程的核心内容还包括批判性思维和电影美学,旨在通过工作坊和研讨会培养学生在未来制作电影所需的各种技能。通过广泛的业界实践,学生将能够亲临拍摄现场,向业界人士学习,成为职业制片人。我们将充分培养学生能力,激发他们的创意,并提供制作电影的机会。

为什么选择西浦影视摄影与制作专业?

影视艺术学院在语言,传播学和文化领域的复合型研究引领着学院的发展。这一新专业将与数字媒体艺术专业一起推动相关领域的实践,研究,创新和行业发展。

优越的环境加强这一专业的不凡。苏州和苏州工业园区(SIP) 厚积薄发,引领现在,塑造未来。苏州将为电影制作人提供展示自我的舞台,而SIP将提供广阔的空间,让电影制作人接触到活跃的业界人员,富有创意的研究者和欣欣向荣的行业市场。

我们拥有经验丰富的国际化师资团队,课程设置充分结合理论知识和实践技能,贴合市场需要,学生可充分提高知识技能。我们在培养实践技能,传授理论知识的同时,也重视培养学生的思考能力和国际化视野。影视艺术学院将推动教学和行业发展,扩展国际合作伙伴关系。学校计划在教育和电影产业发展国际合作伙伴关系。来自国内外的电影专业学生有机会到西浦影视艺术学院进行为期一学期的交换(与苏格兰一电影学院和位于珀斯的西澳大学已进行初步洽谈)。

西交利物浦大学还将为本专业学生提供机会,与西浦其他专业的学子共同合作。西浦倡导的创新教学实践将创造一种新的环境,让学生在专注于学业的同时,可以从其他学科的专业知识和实践中受益。跨专业合作是课程重要的组成部分,学生可以和来自工业设计系(特效制作),建筑系(如 “逃离城市“项目,学生需对当地建筑进行合作拍摄),和中文系的同学(以历史或当地故事制作影视作品或拍摄纪录片)进行各种合作。学生的潜力是无限的。

该建筑将成为一站式电影制作空间。

学生将学习如何使用最先进的设备,包括RED和Arri Alexa相机系统,实现4/5k拍摄,AVID Media Composer剪辑系统,用于调色的DaVinci Resolve软件,用于后期制作音频的Protools,After FX和 适用于特效的3D Studio Max,专业配音和录音设备,4k样片审阅设施,和电影放映设施。学生还可以使用专业的场务设备,无人机,摇臂,轨道和移动式摄影车。所有设备符合行业标准和行业惯例。

项目教学以工作室和拍摄现场为基础。工作室拥有动作捕捉和绿屏特效设施,允许多摄像机和单摄像机拍摄,进行影视作品和综艺节目制作。

学生可在先进的教学环境中学习先进的技术。

21世纪的电影行业是全球性的合作型产业。西浦影视摄影与制作专业满足市场需要,培养国际型、技术型影视制作人才。

学位证书 西交利物浦大学 影视摄影与制作​ 利物浦大学 BA Filmmaking 了解更多关于大学学位的信息

知识与技能

通过本专业的学习,学生将能够:

  • 熟悉电影制作流程和相关领域的理论和方法论;
  • 掌握对自己和他人电影作品的批评方法;
  • 以理论指导实践,并从实践中总结理论;
  • 提高自我学习管理和规划能力;
  • 具备影视制作所需的高级专业技能;
  • 提升在相关领域内进行专业创作和研究的能力;
  • 通过富有创造力和批判性的专业作品展现高水平的交际能力,并反映业界的问题和争议;
  • 对电影制作领域具备独立的批判意识;
  • 立足实践培养行业协作所需的创造性思维和专业技能;
  • 在电影制作或其他相关领域中取得卓越发展;
  • 作为艺术家,教育者,业界先锋和优秀公民为世界做出贡献。

设施

位于南校区的影视艺术学院教学楼正在建设中。目前学生可以使用人文社科楼的教学设施,包括数字实验室,阶梯教室,计算机实验室,及会议室等,在新教学楼建成后仍可继续使用这些设施。新教学楼将在第一届影视制作专业学生本科二年级开学前投入使用。

基于国际知名的电影学院培养模式,学院专辟公共创意空间以便电影制作专业学生和其他专业同学、业内人士和各种优秀人才进行交流。教学楼将设置创意区供学生合作设计项目,完成相应学分或进行ALA(附加学习活动)相应学时。 此外,这对本地寻求合作的创意产业也极具吸引力。 新教学楼可容纳各类讲座,进行专业相关的各类理论教授和实践训练。 这将涵括电影制作人从零开始的所有阶段,包括基础理论,构想,策划,拍摄,后期制作及放映。

新建筑楼外观独树一帜,或将成为校园乃至苏州地区的地标建筑。配备设施包括:中型和大型拍摄工作室,可进行绿屏制作,作品模拟和动作捕捉实验。教学楼拥有独立的剪辑工作室和后期制作工作室,可供学生完成基本的后期制作,进行专业调色和配音输出等。该建筑还将为表演者提供独立空间,以便演员和电影制片人进行排练和教学。 此外还有制片会议室,以便激发创意与合作。新教学楼配备有能够容纳250人的电影院,用于放映国内外学生作品与经典电影。

课程

就业

本专业的独特之处在于其对创造性表达的重视,前沿技术的掌握,对问题解决能力以及批判性思维的培养。掌握这些通用专业技能,学生将能够在影视行业,广播媒体和线上平台等广泛的传媒领域成功就业。

费用

如何申请

请查看如何申请了解更多有关申请的信息。
注:本专业目前在利物浦大学最终认证过程中。