Innovation and impact

To drive innovation, XJTLU encourages interdisciplinary research projects that allow important problems to be tackled from a variety of directions with complementary expertise.

Research

As a new kind of university, XJTLU attracts talented researchers from across the world and understands the importance of bringing staff and resources together so that the resulting cross-fertilisation of ideas can bring about innovation-driven development.

To catalyse innovation, the University encourages interdisciplinary research projects and has created institutes that allow important problems to be tackled from a variety of directions with complementary expertise. It has also created an International Innovation Hub the key goals of which include providing space for proof-of-concept work, and allowing business incubation and offering collaboration opportunities for new ventures by XJTLU and students, as well as for entrepreneurs from outside the University.

XJTLU’s transnational character and English-speaking environment make it well-suited to be a portal that brings together key overseas and Chinese technology innovators. For this reason, it has established an International Technology Transfer Centre that aims to:

  • work with world-leading international partner universities and institutes to showcase leading-edge technology
  • serve as an intermediary to bring together innovators with high-value commercialisable technology and appropriate funders (venture capital companies, government agencies or other funding bodies)
  • streamline and accelerate international technology transfer and knowledge exchange
  • provide expertise and training in innovation and technology transfer to key stakeholders in China.
New ideas generated through research and development often produce benefits that go beyond the University. These benefits can be widespread and can influence the economy, society, culture, policy, health, the environment and the quality of life.

创新与影响

西交利物浦大学通过鼓励跨学科研究促进创新,通过学科间的互补寻求各领域重大问题的解决方案。

科研

作为一所新形式的大学,西交利物浦大学吸引了来自全球的研究人才,并充分意识到整合人才与资源的重要性。在这里,新想法得以开花结果,创新驱动的发展得以实现。

在推动创新方面,西交利物浦大学鼓励开展跨学科研究,并成立了多个研究院所,通过学科间的互补寻求各领域重大问题的解决方案。西浦成立了国际创新中心,为新概念的产生与验证提供空间,开展商业孵化,为学生与校外创业者提供创业合作机会。

西交利物浦大学的国际化特色与英语环境,非常适合成为来自国内外的科技创新者们沟通交流的门户和渠道。因此,西浦成立了国际技术转移中心,旨在:

  • 与世界一流院校合作,展示顶尖技术;
  • 成为具有商业化价值的技术创新者与投资人之间的桥梁(风险投资人,政府机构或其他投资机构);
  • 促进国际技术转移与知识交换,形成高效机制;
  • 为国内相关机构提供创新与技术转移方面的专业咨询与培训。

科研与发展过程中产生的新想法所带来的收益不仅仅体现在大学层面;这些新想法能够为经济、社会、文化、政策、民生、环境乃至生活等方方面面带来积极的影响。