Research

Research Institute of Biopharmaceutical Sciences

An important feature of the Research Institute of Biorpharmaceutical Sciences is its multi-disciplinary teams, consisting of core members, industrial researchers and invited international researchers, which accelerate progress and facilitate innovation and knowledge exchange.

Scope and significance

The global market for biopharmaceuticals was estimated at USD 200 billion in 2013 and currently more than 10,000 therapeutics are under development. The market is already the fastest growing sector of the pharmaceutical industry and has been predicted to reach USD 497.9 billion by 2020, according to ‘Industry Experts 2013. Biopharmaceuticals – A Global Market Overview’.

Suzhou is well-placed to be a centre of excellence in biopharmaceuticals, not least because a significant number of the 400 biotechnology companies in BioBay are working in this sector. Further, several of these companies already have fruitful collaborations with researchers at Xi'an Jiaotong-Liverpool University.

The RIBS has several core research activities, including:

  • The discovery or design and engineering of novel biopharmaceuticals directed against key diseases. Given the interests of existing staff, areas of interest include cancer, neurological disorders, gynaecological conditions and infectious diseases such as tuberculosis and hepatitis. Bioinformatic data-mining of the human genome is likely to yield novel candidate biopharmaceutics for some time to come. Additionally, existing biopharmaceuticals can be put together in different combinations to create drugs with new therapeutic properties
  • Develop better strategies to isolate biopharmaceuticals and to assess their purity
  • The RIBS also aims to carry out detailed investigations of the mode of action of novel therapeutics.

研究

生物制药科学研究院

多学科团队是西交利物浦大学生物制药科学研究院的一大特点。我院团队由核心研究成员、行业研究者和受邀的国际研究者组成,能最大化地促进发展,并推动创新与知识交流。

范围和意义

2013年,生物制药的全球市场约为2000亿美元。现在,超过10000种治疗方法正处于开发阶段。生物制药市场已经成为制药行业增长最迅速的部分。据《2013生物制药行业专家-全球市场概要》预期,到2020年,生物制药市场将达4979亿美元。

苏州已准备好成为先进的生物制药中心。苏州工业园区生物纳米园已有至少400家生物科技企业进驻,其中数家已与西交利物浦大学开展了富有成果的合作。

生物制药科学研究院的核心研究活动包括:

  • 用于治疗主要疾病的新生物制药的发现、设计和管理。在员工研究兴趣的基础上,我们感兴趣的领域包括癌症、神经障碍、妇科疾病和传染病,如肺结核和肝炎等。在未来一段时间内,人类基因的生物信息数据挖掘可能带来新生物制药的产出。此外,现有的生物制药可进行重新组合,从而带动具有新的治疗功能的药物研发。
  • 探索将生物制药分离、并对其纯度进行评估的更优策略
  • 研究院也致力于开展新疗法作用方式的详细调查