Projects

Research Institute of Urbanisation

Huai’an Project

The XJTLU-Huai’an Research Institute of New-type Urbanisation has received funds from the Huai’an government for the period 2014 to 2017 to study the urban modernisation strategy of the Huai’an Economic and Technological Zone.

We are conducting research on implementing principles of sustainable urban development in Huai’an. Through the platform of the RIU, we integrate academic staff from different departments to undertake studies on theories, practice, and policies on the new model of urbanisation.

In December 2014, we completed two reports, “Research on Coordinated Development of Urbanisation, Industrialisation and Informationisation in Huai’an Economic and Technological Development Zone” and “Urban Development Policy Evaluation and Recommendations for Future Sustainable Development”. A group of architecture students also selected the area of the Grand Canal in Huai’an for their final year project.

We are also exploring how to apply the research achievements of the Departments of Industrial design, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Computer Science and Software Engineering and Civil Engineering into practice and commercial production in the Huai’an Economic and Technological Development Zone.

Wujiang Taihu New City Project

The Research Institute of Urbanisation has been involved in setting up a new institute, the XJTLU-Wujiang Taihu New City Research Institute, which received funding support from the Wujiang government. The new institute has eight research groups currently working on the following topics:

  • Environmental science and innovation
  • Social and community management
  • Data science research
  • Urban strategic planning and architecture design
  • Smart and green cities
  • Ageing society and the city
  • Sustainability and innovation
  • New-type ecological building materials.

The research groups’ goal is to experiment with economic, political, social and cultural approaches to the conservation culture, which has been highlighted by China’s top leadership as a priority for the modernisation of the country from various perspectives, including industrialisation, urbanisation, informationisation and greenisation.

Memorandum of Understanding RIU-WHITRAP

The Research Institute of Urbanisation and UNESCO-WHITRAP (World Heritage Institute for Training and Research for the Asia-Pacific Region) signed a Memorandum of Understanding in 2014 with the main objective of studying the implementation of the UNESCO concept of Historic Urban Landscape in China and, in particular, forms of private-public partnerships (PPPs) for sustainable heritage management.

Read more about this project.

Agreement of cooperation between RIU and EPFL

The Research Institute of Urbanisation and CODEV-EPFL (Cooperation and Development Centre of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology of Lausanne, Switzerland) agreed in October 2014 to conduct a study of sustainable development of intermediate cities in China. The main aim of the story is to conduct joint research on sustainable forms of governance for emerging urban formations in China, utilising the city of Huai’an as a case study.

研究项目

城镇化研究院

淮安项目

西交利物浦大学与淮安新型城镇化研究院已获得淮安政府2014-2017年拨款,用于研究淮安经济技术开发区的城镇现代化策略。

我们正在研究能够用于淮安可持续城镇发展的实施原则。在城镇化研究院这一平台,我们整合来自不同科系的学术人员,一同参与新型城镇化理论、实践和政策的研究。

我们已于2014年12月完成了《淮安经济技术开发区城镇化、工业化和信息化协调发展研究》和《未来可持续发展城市化政策评估及建议》两项报告。许多建筑系的学生也选择将淮安大运河作为其学年研究项目的主题。

同时,我们不断探索如何将工业设计系、电气与电子工程系、计算机科学与软件工程系和土木工程系的研究成果应用于淮安经济技术开发区的实践和商业中去。

吴江太湖新城项目

城镇化研究院还加入到了西交利物浦大学吴江太湖新城研究院的组建工作中。吴江太湖新城研究院获吴江政府资助,目前新研究院的八个研究小组分别对以下几个课题进行研究:

  • 环境科学和创新
  • 社会和社区管理
  • 数据科学研究
  • 城市规划策略和建筑设计
  • 智慧绿色城市
  • 老龄化社会和城市
  • 可持续与创新
  • 新型生态建筑材料

研究小组的目标是对实现生态文明的经济、政治、社会和文化手段进行实验。中国高层领导人对这一领域尤为关注,认为其是实现国家现代化(包括工业化、城镇化、信息化和绿色化)的重要途径。

RIU-WHITRAP谅解备忘录

2014年,城镇化研究院与联合国教科文组织亚太地区世界遗产培训中心(RIU-WHITRAP)签署了谅解备忘录,其主要目标是研究如何将联合国教科文组织关于城市历史景观的理念在中国予以实践,尤其是公私合营(PPPs)的可持续遗产管理。

点击了解更多信息。.

城镇化研究院与瑞士洛桑联邦理工学院的合作协议

城镇化研究院与CODEV-EPFL(瑞士洛桑联邦理工学院合作与发展中心)签署协议,于2014年10月在中国开展中间城市可持续发展研究。其主要目的是以淮安作为案例,双方合作研究中国新兴城市形态的可持续政府管理方法。