About

Research Institute on Ageing and Society

The Institute uses the opportunity of China’s unique situation to study the cultural, economic, social, and technological implications of population ageing from an interdisciplinary perspective. This emphasis on the implications of and responses to population ageing is unique as most research on ageing and gerontology tends to focus on ageing per se rather than its consequences for society and the economy.

The Institute’s goals are:

  • Study the cultural, economic, social, and technological implications of (population) ageing through rigorous, academic research generating insights which advance both theoretical and practical knowledge
  • Advise decision-makers in private and public sectors to develop innovative responses and solutions for the challenges of demographic change in China and other countries
  • Enhance the quality-of-life of older people and contribute to a sustainable ageing society in China as well as other countries.

As well as the there are approximately 20 academic staff members from various XJTLU departments who are affiliated with the Institute.

Additionally, there is a strong network of domestic and international partners including, amongst others, strategic partnerships with the Center for Ageing and Health Research at Xi'an Jiaotong University, the Center for Mature Consumer Studies at Georgia State University, USA, the Sloan Center on Ageing and Work at Boston College, USA, and the University of Liverpool, UK.

Location in Jiangsu and Suzhou

Jiangsu and Suzhou, with their combination of suitable geographic location, advanced technology companies, and demographics, are ideally situated to play a key role in shaping China’s transition to an advanced ageing society.

According to the Civil Affairs Bureau of Suzhou Municipality, one in four residents who have local hukou is aged above 60, with a total population of over 1.5 million by the end of 2013. Since 2012, there has been a net increase of about 70,000 every year and it is projected that the total aging population will reach 1.8 million by 2020.

Along with the rapid growing aging population, the life expectancy also has increased. In Suzhou, the 12th Five Year Plan of Aging Undertaking Development has prioritized five areas: endowment and benefits, elderly service, social management of aging society, overall quality of life of older people and development of the aging industry. RIAS’ mission and goals are perfectly in line with these priorities.

概况

老龄化社会研究院

通过学科交叉的视角,老龄化社会研究院根据中国的特殊国情研究老龄化问题给我国带来的文化、经济、社会和技术方面的影响。我们将研究重心放在老龄化问题的影响和对策上。由于现有大部分针对老龄化和老年医学的研究都只关注问题本身,可以说,我院对其影响与对策的研究是一个较新的研究视角。

本研究院的目标:

  • 通过严格地学术研究得出能够推动理论和实践知识发展的深刻见解,研究人口老龄化所带来的文化、经济、社会和技术影响
  • 建议私有和公共部门的决策者能够以创新的解决方法应对国内外人口结构转变所带来的诸多挑战
  • 提高老年人口的生活质量,同时促进国内外形成可持续的老龄化社会

本研究院拥有20余名来自西交利物浦大学各个院系的学术人员,同时还有若干核心团队成员。

除此之外,我院还拥有强大的国内外学术伙伴网络,其中包括同西安交通大学老龄化与健康研究中心的战略合作,同美国乔治亚州立大学成熟消费者研究中心的战略合作,同美国波士顿大学斯隆老龄化研究工作中心的战略合作,以及同英国利物浦大学的战略合作等。

地处江苏省和苏州市

江苏省和苏州市拥有得天独厚的地理优势、先进的科技企业以及充足的人口数量,这些都被认为是促使中国社会向先进的老龄化社会转型的关键因素。

据苏州市民政局的调查数据显示,截至2013年年末,超过60岁的苏州户口居民达到150万,占苏州总人口数量的四分之一。2012年开始,老年人口数量年净增长达到7万人,预计在2020年将达到180万。随着老年人口的增多,老年人的平均预期寿命也在不断增加。

苏州市政府在“十二五规划”中列出了老龄事业发展的五大优先领域,包括养老和福利、老龄服务、老龄化社会的社会管理、老年人的生活质量,以及老龄产业发展等。老龄化社会研究院的任务和目标与这些优先发展的领域紧密契合。