Research priorities and strategy

XJTLU aspires to be a leading research-led university that combines a strong international profile with an unswerving commitment to the economic and social development of Suzhou, Jiangsu Province and China.

Research

Priorities

XJTLU has identified the following research themes that reflect the nature and capacity of our university and our commitment to inter-disciplinarity:

  • Energy futures: social and technological choices
  • Living in the digital age: human-computer interaction, design, social networks
  • Finance, risk and hazard management
  • Sustainable urbanisation
  • Health technologies in society
  • Emerging economies
  • Diagnostic markers, therapeutic targets, and drug discovery
  • Languages, communication and culture
  • Nanotechnology and new materials.

Strategy

XJTLU aims to bring together the best practice from its parent universities, Xi’an Jiaotong University and the University of Liverpool, and aspires to be a leading research-led university that combines a strong international profile with an unswerving commitment to the economic and social development of Suzhou, Jiangsu Province and China.

At the core of its five-year research strategy XJTLU will concentrate on:

  • developing research programmes
  • setting up a research infrastructure
  • strengthening research activities
  • nurturing a spirit of enterprise
  • facilitating the generation of intellectual property
  • promoting knowledge transfer.

The University's research strategy commits to developing the physical and cultural environment necessary to build on its own and its parent universities’ current strengths. XJTLU aims to establish an international profile based on world-class, cutting-edge research and to provide a framework for action through sharply focussed key research themes and centres.

XJTLU will orientate itself towards applied research, aiming to enhance Suzhou Industrial Park’s research infrastructure and gain crucial support from local government. The University is also well positioned as a bridge for Sino-British research collaboration, serving both as a portal for research talents entering China and a showcase for local research potential to the world at large.

XJTLU’s research strategy is kept under active review and evolves together with the development of academic programmes. It will be measured by its feasibility, focus and sustainability.

科研重点与战略

西交利物浦大学致力于建设一所世界知名的研究导向型国际大学,充分发挥我校国际化的特点与优势,坚定不移地为中国以及地区的社会和经济发展做出贡献。

科研

科研重点

为实现西交利物浦大学的发展愿景和科研发展战略,学校将集中资源优势和能力优势重点在以下几个方面开展科研活动,以期能够迅速建立国际领导地位和影响并回馈社会:

  • 能源未来:社会和技术的选择
  • 数字时代生活:人机交互、设计、社交网络、通讯与多媒体
  • 金融、风险与危害管理
  • 可持续城市化
  • 民生领域的健康科技
  • 新兴经济
  • 诊断标识物、治疗靶标、药物研发
  • 语言、传播与文化
  • 纳米技术与新材料

科研战略

西交利物浦大学秉承两所母体学校(西安交通大学和利物浦大学)的优良传统,致力于建设一所世界知名的研究导向型国际大学,坚定不移地为中国以及地区的社会和经济发展做出贡献。

西交利物浦大学未来5年的科研规划核心是:

  • 制定科研发展方案;
  • 建设科研基础设施;
  • 加强研究活动;
  • 培养企业家精神;
  • 促进知识产权开发;
  • 促进知识转让。

学校科研战略的制定致力于借助其自身和两所母体学校的优势,创造良好的科研硬件条件和良好的研究文化环境,西交利物浦大学的目标是通过从事世界水平、世界前沿的科学研究树立学校的国际形象;学校还将制定科研行动纲领,制定重点突出的研究主题和建设研究中心。

西交利物浦大学将自身定位在应用型研究,旨在加强苏州工业园区的的研究基础设施,以获得当地政府更好的支持。此外,西交利物浦大学更是良好的中英研究合作的桥梁,将提供国外高水平研究人才进入中国的渠道,并且向整个世界展示其研究潜力。

我们还将不断的积极审视自己的科研战略规划,并将随着时间的推移与学校的学科建设发展来不断评价衡量其可行性、重点和可持续性。