Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Since 2008, the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering has undertaken 43 cooperative research projects, including 16 with National Natural Science Foundation of China/Jiangsu Natural Science Foundation funds, with a total research income of around RMB 10 million.

We aim to pursue research by: attracting and retaining world-class engineering academics and supporting staff; working in collaboration with other disciplines, institutions and companies; strengthening local and international research collaborations; encouraging staff and student exchange programmes; engaging in knowledge transfer to industry.

Our current research activities are organised into four main areas:

Signal processing and telecommunications
  • Data compression and image processing techniques
  • RF and antenna designs
  • Beyond 3G wireless communication systems and EM simulations.
  • Silicon integrated optics and devices
  • VLSI design
  • Nano and high-k materials.
Intelligent systems
  • Statistical pattern recognition
  • Computer vision and nature-inspired computing.
Energy and power engineering
  • Solar cell technology
  • Electric power generation and transmission systems
  • Electromagnetic transient
  • EMC and renewable energy.

The Department currently has eight research centres or laboratories, including:

  • Centre for Smart Grid and Information Convergence
  • Suzhou Broadband Wireless Access Technology Key Lab
  • Centre for Energy and Electric Power
  • New energy technology service public platform
  • High frequency research lab
  • Energy Research Lab
  • Clean room
  • Multimedia Research Lab.

With the expansion of the Department and the continuous recruitment of new staff, we will attract and support new emerging areas of research, in particular in the field of environmental protection and bioengineering.

Collaboration with foreign universities is a feature of our research team. We have worked with Xi’an Jiaotong University, Beijing Jiaotong University, the University of Liverpool, Sungkyunkwan University and Politecnico di Torino, among others.