Research-led training courses

Institute of Leadership and Education Advanced Development

The core objective of the research-led teaching training courses is to help university teachers to understand and accept student-centered teaching and education philosophies, to familiarise them with methods of research-led teaching, and ultimately to help them make real changes to their teaching practices.

These courses help participants to replace traditional 'spoon-feeding' teaching with research-led methods. Such methods cultivate students’ active, collaborative, and autonomous learning capacities, provide insights into their developmental problems, build teamwork and communication skills, and boost their critical thinking and problem-solving abilities, which mot only improves the student learning experience, but enriches student employability.

Since 2014, 423 university teachers from 12 universities have participated in these courses, including: Hunan University, Jiaxing University, Qinghai Normal University, Shanghai Finance University, Nanjing University of Information and Engineering, Jiangsu University, Gengdan Institute of Beijing University of Technology, Shanxi Normal University, China University of Petroleum, Nanjing Tech University, China Pharmaceutical University and Xi'an International Studies University.

Testimonials from participants

Participant from the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering, Jinan University
“This courses has the positive influence on facilitating teachers to change the traditional knowledge spoon-fed teaching pattern. Several teachers were sent to participate the training every time. After the training, teachers implemented the research-led teaching methods in their classroom practice and changed the traditional teaching pattern, which created the excellent atmosphere for teaching innovation both in department and school levels.”

University Teacher from Hunan University
“I learned a lot of teaching philosophies and methods from this training course. Firstly, many philosophies have been transferred and I systematically learned about the “student-centred” philosophy and education mode. Meanwhile, I had the in-depth discussion and thought with teacher peers on how to implement the “student-centred” philosophy from the perspectives of course design, students’ interaction and learning assessment and evaluation.”

Du Jing from Business School of Hunan University
“The most impressive point of XJTLU is that it is an open environment, which gives teachers much support. From the personal viewpoint, the greatest transfer of my mentality is that I start to think the first thing the teacher should do as the teacher stands on the stage, that is, spread the positive energy, standing in the classroom with the pretty positive mentality. Then we should deliver the thought and knowledge. Previously, we always complain the system and environment of the university but I found that I can make innovations and breakthroughs from my personal perspective through this training.”

Teacher Cao, Yan’an University
“Honestly speaking, we have the great distance from XJTLU in terms of the education mode and environment. This distance does not merely refer to the physical environment of running schools, but also the education concepts. Our students, teacher and parents are not ready for this innovation but the mode of XJTLU is definitely the right path for the reform. In the path of teaching reform, the experience of XJTLU is precious and worth of our reference.”

Teacher Li, Ocean University of China
“The essence of research-led teaching is to design some methods to make students learn how to learn and research autonomously, focusing on designing the teaching forms.”

Teacher Li, School of Science of China Pharmaceutical University

“The lectures given by XJTLU academic staff impressed me a lot. They emphasise the aim, which should be learners-centred and leaves deep impression to me, a senior teacher with 20 teaching experience. Previously, we always implement the teaching tasks of the university without considering the students and the teaching. The training grants me fresh energy to involve in the interesting teaching plans design.”

研究导向型教学研修项目

领导与教育前沿研究院

研究导向型教学研修项目的核心目标是帮助高校任课老师在理念上理解和认可“以学生为中心”的教育教学,通过研究导向型的教学改进学生学习体验,并最终在自身的教学实践中做出实质性改变。

任课教师研修项目的基本使命是帮助参与者改变传统的以知识灌输为主导的教学模式,转而采用一种以支持和引导学生的学习为主导,以培养学生的自主学习能力、对社会问题的洞察力、团队合作与沟通能力、批判性思维以及解决问题能力为目标的教学模式。

自2014年开始,共有12所院校定制过14期任课教师研修项目,来自湖南大学、嘉兴学院、青海师范大学、上海金融学院、南京信息工程大学、江苏大学、北京工业大学耿丹学院、山西师范大学、中国石油大学(华东)、南京工业大学、中国药科大学以及西安外国语大学共计423位任课教师参与。

研究导向型教学定期于每年的1月和8月举行,自2016年1月19-21日首届举办以来,至今已成功举办四期,共有来自吉林大学、湖南大学、上海大学、北京化工大学、青海师范大学等全国近四十所高校多个学科的近两百位高校教师参与,这些学校已有相当数量的任课教师对所授课程做了根本性的创新,在教学中积极探索研究导向型教学。很多高校每年固定选派10人以上的教学改革和创新的团队参与研修。

客户反馈

吉林大学机械工程系 参训老师
该项目对于促进教师改变传统知识灌输式的教学模式有着积极的作用。每一期活动结束后都会选派多名老师参加。参与研讨班之后,老师们都在自己的课堂上实践运用了研讨式的教学方法,改变了课堂教学的模式,对于院系层面的教学创新创造了非常好的氛围。

湖南大学骨干任课教师
通过这次任课教师研修,学习到了许多教育理念和方法。首先在理念上有了许多转变,系统了解了“以学生为中心”的理念和育人模式,同时针对教师在课堂上如何做到“以学生为中心”,也与同行从课程设计、学生互动和学生学习评价考核各个教学环节进行了深度的讨论和思考。

湖南大学杜老师
西浦最让人印象深刻的是一个很开放的环境,给予老师非常多的支持。就个人来说心态上很大的一个转变就是思考一个老师站到讲台要做到的第一件事:传递正能量,用一个非常积极的心态站到课堂上。其次才是传授思维和知识。以往都停留在对学校的体制和环境的抱怨上,但是通过这次研修觉得个人层面还是有创新和突破的空间的。

延安大学 曹老师
实事求是的讲,西浦的办学模式与我们的办学实际还有较大差距。这个差距不仅是办学条件方面的,更有观念方面的。我们的学生、老师、家长,还没有准备好。但西浦的模式无疑是改革的正确方向。在教学改革的道路上,西浦的经验是宝贵的,也是值得我们参考的。

中国海洋大学 吕老师
研究导向的教学的本质是设计一些方法让学生学会自我研究、自我学习,重点在于设计怎样的教学形式。

中国药科大学理学院 李老师

西浦老师的讲演理念对我的触动非常大,强调了目标,而且这个目标是以学习者为中心,给我这个20年教学经历的老教师一个触动。以前一直是在执行学校的教学任务,没有真正从教学主体出发去进行教学,这次研修给了我鲜活的力量去投入到有趣的教学方案设计中。