MENU

Since 2011, Literature has been an integral part of XJTLU’s strong tradition of teaching, learning and research. Initially a part of the Department of Languages and Culture, the Department of Literature was established in September 2020 as a department in its own right.

The Literature offering at XJTLU now encompasses a complete suite of modules, giving students a comprehensive foundation in literary study and covering a broad historical range of English Literature from Shakespeare to the present day. We also incorporate a number of innovative contemporary and comparative approaches to the discipline, demonstrating the continuing and increasing relevance of literary study in the 21st century. In addition, for Year Four students, we now offer a distinctive Final Year Project assessed by dissertation only, with a high level of specialised support in communicative writing. At postgraduate level we are developing a new MA programme, while PhD supervision is already available.

Literature is integral to a number of disciplines, including BA English Studies, BA English and Communication Studies, BA English and Finance and BA English and International Business. Literature modules can also be taken as major, minor or elective options in the new BA Global Studies programme.

The Department of Literature is a part of the School of Humanities and Social Sciences.

导航

自2011年以来,文学专业一直是西交利物浦大学极具竞争力的教学与研究传统中不可或缺的一部分。文学系最初隶属于语言文化系,2020年九月正式独立成系。

文学系课程体系完整,旨在为学生的文学研究夯实基础。从莎士比亚到当代文学,课程设置涵盖了广泛历史范围内的英国文学。文学系的教学与科研紧密相连,采用创新的现代研究法和比较研究法,以体现文学研究在21世纪持续且日益增长的相关性。从大学二年级开始,学生可以在一系列广泛的选修课程中选择自己感兴趣的课程。此外,针对大四学生,文学系也开设了以论文为评估标准的独特毕业项目,在交流写作方面为学生提供更高层面的专业指导。我们热衷于为文学多样化研究领域内的博士生项目提供学术支持,并有意扩大我们现有的研究生群体。

文学也是西交利物浦大学多个专业学位课程的重要组成部分, 英语应用英语研究专业传媒英语专业均将文学作为必修课。同时,金融英语专业 以及 国际商务英语专业也将文学作为选修课。

文学系隶属于人文社科学院