BSc Environmental Science

Find a programme

Overview

Our BSc Environmental Science programme is XJTLU’s foundational environmental degree, enabling you to learn the science behind the Earth’s amazing complexity and its environmental processes, and to help prepare you to take a role in improving the future of our planet. Our staff include research experts and environmental practitioners who will share with you their practical and theoretical insights so that you emerge from your degree with an understanding of how to measure, evaluate, and make decisions about environmental issues.

We have specialised teams working in the areas of: biogeochemistry and environmental chemistry; soil, plant and invertebrate ecology; and physical geography and geomorphology. From day one of your degree you will take a hands-on approach to the collection and analysis of environmental data in the field and laboratory. You will have the opportunity to learn sophisticated laboratory techniques and data analysis, such as the utilisation of Geographical Information Systems. You will have the opportunity to work and learn in inspiring places where you will gain practical field experience.

Our programme will expand your worldview and enable you to learn about Earth system processes at a range of scales, from local and regional to national and global. You’ll engage with issues relating to major world problems such as biodiversity loss, climate change, and disruption of the earth’s chemical cycles on which we depend to live. You will uncover the complexities in environmental decision making and discover ways to engage in environmental management. Throughout the programme you will develop a wide range of practical skills to increase your employability.

Our programme encourages you to pursue your interests and shape your ambitions. Our degree offers you meaningful opportunities to develop research, or to gain insights from industry leaders in the environmental private sector and non-governmental organisations through our department’s Development Advisory Board, a panel of distinguished environmental professions from China and overseas. You will also have the opportunity to engage with other important professionals and their organisations through field trips that are embedded in modules and work placement opportunities offered or recommended by our department.

Why should I study Environmental Science at XJTLU?

  • Outstanding academic staff and teaching and research platforms;
  • International standard curriculum that helps you to find your potential and which will increase your career competitiveness;
  • Focus on integration of global development with expertise in solutions to environmental problems;
  • Research-led teaching with emphasis on research in areas where humanity faces severe challenges.
Qualification XJTLU BSc Environmental Science University of Liverpool BSc Environmental Science More about qualifications

Knowledge and skills

The aims or our programme are to help you to:

  • become an internationally prepared environmental science professional with problem-solving competencies across the major Programme focus areas of ecological, geophysical, and chemical system’s variability on regional and global scales, and the influence of humans upon it.
  • be able to demonstrate a high degree of scientific literacy, including an understanding of how scientific knowledge is constructed in our Programme focus areas, a firm grasp of fundamental and applied scientific perspectives, and a proficiency in laboratory- and field-based analysis.
  • approach environmental science from a research-led, interdisciplinary, and integrated systems perspective that incorporates the increasing complexity of regional and global issues within a life-long learning philosophy.
  • communicate in written and verbal forms such complexity and its relationship to society from a scientific perspective, promoting multicultural understanding of environmental issues and their importance to scientists and non-scientists alike.

I love the learning environment in our department and our opportunities are enhanced by interactive teaching, good lab equipment, field trips, and social activities.

Yijin (James) Guo Student, BSc Environmental Science, China

Modules

Careers

You will have a wide range of career options including:

  • environmental consultant
  • governmental policy maker
  • environmental impact assessment specialist
  • laboratory scientist
  • geographic information systems analyst
  • ecosystem restoration engineer
  • environmental education officer
  • green technology specialist
  • nature conservation officer
  • waste management officer
  • waster quality scientist.

Fees

Entry requirements

Please visit the entry requirements page for the comprehensive list of qualifications required to study at XJTLU.

After an extremely helpful first year, I was really keen on starting to study the specific materials about environmental materials with some real research starting from Year Two. In semester one of Year Two, I was asked to be a speaker at an AIESEC event in Hefei about environmental leadership, which was then followed by being selected as one of the TEDxYouth Suzhou speakers. In 2014, I was also selected as a delegate at the United Nations Conference of Climate Change in Peru, where I met Al Gore. In 2015, representing XJTLU, I attended COP21 in Paris, where delegates from more than 190 countries discussed reducing greenhouse gas emissions that pollute the air and contribute to global warming. I do enjoy learning on the environmental science programme at XJTLU, which has given me an amazing experience so far.

Mia Oenoto Student, BSc Environmental Science , Indonesia

How to apply

Applications should be submitted via our online application system:

  1. Click/tap the APPLY link
  2. Create an account or log in to your existing account
  3. Complete your application

Once your application account is successfully created, enter all the information required in the application form carefully and make sure the information you provide is correct, complete and up to date. Upload the required documents to the corresponding fields.

You may log-in to view your application form at any time.

For further details of how to successfully apply to study at XJTLU, please visit the how to apply page.

BSc 环境科学

搜索专业

概览

西浦环境科学专业是学校的自然科学专业之一。通过环境科学专业的本科学习,学生能够系统地掌握地质环境和生态系统的复杂性,探索全球范围内环境演变的过程及规律,培养解决环境问题的能力。我们的师资团队包括科研专家和环保行业人员。通过分享他们的实践经验和理论见解,学生可以在学习中逐步了解如何衡量、评价和制定有关环境问题的决策。

环境科学专业主要教学方向包括:生物地球化学和环境化学领域、土壤、植物和无脊椎动物生态学领域以及自然地理与地貌领域。从进入环境科学专业学习的第一天开始,学生就将进行多种动手实践活动,包括亲自动手收集、分析实地和实验室的环境数据,学习复杂的实验室技术和利用地理信息系统进行数据分析等。学生还将走出实验室和学校,获得野外实习的经验。

本专业的课程设置将开阔学生的视野,使学生能够了解从区域到国家乃至全球范围内地球系统的进程,从不同角度探讨全球的主要环境问题,如生物多样性的丧失、气候变化以及地球化学循环的破坏等。学生能够意识到环境决策的复杂性,并探寻从事环境管理的方法。在整个学习过程中,学生将获得广泛的实用技能,从而增加就业竞争力。

西浦环境科学系鼓励学生追求自己的兴趣并塑造理想,为学生提供众多参与科研活动的机会,通过环境科学系发展咨询委员让学生了解到来自工业界,私营部门和非政府组织的环保行业领导者们的专业解读与见解。在进行田野调查与实习的过程中,学生们也将得到更多与专业人进行交流、到专业组织进行实地访问的机会。

为什么选择西浦环境科学专业?

  • 西交利物浦环境科学系具有世界一流的师资团队及教学和科研平台;
  • 学生有机会前往全国及世界各地考察不同的生态环境类型,体验自然与人类活动之间的相互关系;
  • 国际化综合性的课程设计让学生全方面发展自己的能力,未来在职业发展方面获得更强的竞争力。
学位证书 西交利物浦大学 环境科学 利物浦大学 BSc Environmental Science 了解更多关于大学学位的信息

知识与技能

  • 生态学基本原理
  • 环境化学与生物学
  • 地理地貌与地理信息系统
  • 土壤与水资源的可持续利用
  • 污染场地的管理与修复
  • 环境管理与环境影响评价
  • 气候变化等全球性环境问题的成因及应对方案
  • 海洋、森林、河流等典型生态系统与人类活动的关系

环科系最吸引我的是学科交叉的特性、互动的教学方法、先进的实验设备、野外实习的机会和对社会活动的支持。环科系还大力支持我参加了联合国气候变化大会和美国学术机构学生领袖计划,这使得我的学习经历非常精彩且很有意义。

郭一锦 学生,环境科学专业,来自中国

课程

就业

随着经济的发展带来众多环境相关的问题与机遇,环境科学的毕业生可以在以下领域大展身手:

  • 环境科研与教育领域:深造成为一个环境研究者,可就职于大学与科研院所;
  • 环境管理与政策领域:就职于政府及非政府组织(如:联合国环境署等)的环境相关部门从事环境政策制定与环境项目管理工作;
  • 环境影响评价及修复领域:成为针对工程项目建设的环境影响评价师,或者针对污染场地修复的环境修复工程师及技术人员;
  • 环境咨询领域:为工业界提供绿色生产,绿色产业链分析,及环境风险评估,减少因环境因素对企业发展的影响;
  • 其他领域:环境科技媒体,可持续农业,自然教育,碳贸易,环境安全评估,自然保护区和环境基金会等

费用

录取要求

请查看入学条件了解我校对学生入学资质的相关要求。

经过非常有益的第一学年的过渡,从第二学年开始,我热衷于学习专业知识并研究一些与环境息息相关的具体问题。在大二上学期中,我被邀请在合肥举行的AIESEC组织活动中做关于成为环境问题指引人的报告,随后又被选为苏州TEDxYouth活动的演讲者之一。 2014年,我还代表我的国家印度尼西亚参加了在秘鲁举行的联合国气候大会,在那里我见到了美国前副总统戈尔先生。2015年,作为西交利物浦大学代表,我参加了在巴黎举行的COP21会议,与来自190多个国家的代表们讨论温室气体减排以减轻大气污染及全球变暖。我非常喜欢在西交利物浦大学环境系的学习,给了我非常精彩的体验。

Mia Oenoto 学生,环境科学专业,来自印度尼西亚

如何申请

请查看如何申请了解更多有关申请的信息。