Vision

To become a research-led international university in China and a Chinese university recognised internationally for its unique features in learning and teaching, research, social service, and education management.

Mission

  • Educate technical and managerial professionals with international perspectives and competitive capabilities
  • Integrate global economic and social development with expertise in business and technology
  • With our unique focuses and features, conduct research in areas where humanity faces severe challenges
  • Explore new models for higher education that will exert a strong influence on the development of education in China and the world.

XJTLU was fortunate to have been founded at a time of innovation and challenges. The University is committed to the improvement of higher education and the exploration of new models for higher education in China.

Professor Youmin Xi Executive President

Leadership agenda

Publishing the Leadership Agenda has become a regular practice for XJTLU to encourage institutional strategic thinking, develop a shared vision for the university community and expound on key development themes for the upcoming academic year to guide our operation.

The following Leadership Agenda is proposed for AY2021/22, consolidated from the input of all academic departments/schools and professional service centres, reviewed by the Senior Management Team and approved by the Board of Directors.

OVERARCHING STRATEGY

The advantages and value of our strategic blueprint ‘XJTLU Version 2.0’ have been proven by our success in previous years. To align with our previous strategic goals, to face up to all uncertainties in the post-pandemic era, and to make XJTLU truly ‘University of the Future’, we will endeavor to implement our strategic blueprint of ‘XJTLU Version 3.0’, which in general and short means the University will play a catalyst and glue role to develop educational and innovative ecosystem by partnering with governments, industrial partners, communities and other kinds of related institutions.

The strategic goals of the ‘XJTLU Version 3.0’ are stated as follows:

  • To build XJTLU as a reputable educational brand
  • To promote and implement our philosophy and ideology of education
  • To build and share global intellectual networks and resources
  • To develop geographically-distributed themed learning, innovation & entrepreneurship centres of excellence
  • To construct symbiotic educational and innovative ecosystem

PILLAR THEME

  • Education
  • The University will continue to enhance its undergraduate education excellence especially by taking hybrid of online and on campus education as the new context, through rigorous teaching quality assurance, new frameworks for undergraduate teaching, enhanced curriculum and a wider base of education options for students. In addition, the University will continue to prioritise the growth of postgraduate education (especially PhD education).

    Diversified education models will be explored/developed to align with the overarching strategy: the SIP Campus will continue to enhance the education model for “professional elites with industry background”; the XJTLU Entrepreneur College (Taicang) will explore the education model for “industry elites with professional foundation”; and the University will actively collaborate with the governments and the enterprises to pioneer the education model for ‘professionals with industry background & competence in the age of digital intelligence’.

    In addition, it is imperative that we boost the development of the XJTLU Learning Mall in AY2021/22 to foster a culture of life-long learning, and an experience that is tailor-made, innovative and driven by interests. The Learning Mall aims to integrate online and on-campus education in the post-pandemic era, by drawing from our vast global network of online education resources and research achievements and the physical campus facilities of XJTLU.

  • Research
  • The University will accelerate the pace to build an internationally-recognised reputation for research excellence, by boosting the development of university research and innovative platforms such as the university-industry cooperative academies, appointing an increased numbers of professors as leaders of research excellence, and exploring effective research incentives (nationally and internationally with partners), in order to achieve XJTLU’s aspiration to become a world-leading research-led university.

  • Social Services & Regional Impact
  • The University has established itself as a key stakeholder and contributor of the region (Suzhou Industrial Park, Suzhou City and beyond), and will continue to strengthen its collaborations with all sectors of the society to build new communities featuring sharing and symbiosis. Concreate links and enhanced social impact will be achieved by the development of new academies, the Think Tank and other research and innovative platforms.

  • Influence on Higher Education
  • As stated in its mission, the University will continue to positively influence the higher education sector and drive the exploration for new models, with the support of the Ministry of Education. The work for AY2021/22 will focus on sharing the best practices of XJTLU, collaborating with other institutions and driving the behavioural changes of the higher education participants. In addition, XJTLU considers education from a life-long perspective, and will continue with its explorations to positively influence the primary and secondary education.

CORE SUPPORTING THEMES

  • Internationalisation
  • XJTLU will continue to accelerate its process of internationalisation in the post-pandemic era. The pandemic has undeniably dealt a significant blow to internationalisation efforts of universities. However, it is clear that the rapid development of digital technologies will also help universities overcome the setback in the near term through a growing reliance of online education, while simultaneously reshaping the future of education and international collaborations.

    The University expects to make significant progress in international student and staff recruitment in AY2021/22, by exploring the potential for developing new strategic markets and partnership networks, enhancing recruitment processes, reviewing the scholarship system, exploring the more flexible or mixed education system, and ensuring the attractiveness of our programmes and international mobility to international students worldwide.

  • Student Recruitment & Support
  • The University will continuously commit itself to recruiting talented students who echo the University’s core values, and will provide its students with every opportunity to meet or go their potential. The work of AY2021/22 will focus on: increasing annual student intake numbers, strengthening domestic marketing and communications for student recruitment; and enhancing academic, career and resources support for students including alumni.

  • Organization & People Development
  • The University will continue to optimise its organisation structure and governance to improve operation effectiveness and efficiency in AY2021/22 by sharing the experience of school operation as well as centres.

    The University regards its staff, both faculty and professional service staff, as core assets of the University, and will endeavor to align staff career development with the growth of the organisation.

  • Campus Facility Development
  • With the construction of the South Campus completed, the University will focus on upgrading the facility management expertise in AY2021/22, to make the campus a safe, dynamic and environmentally-friendly academic community.

    The University will also actively negotiate with the governments, with regard to the focused initiatives (see next Section), for support in campus facility development.

  • Information Management
  • The University recognises information as one of its key assets, and will boost the information infrastructure and management platform development in AY2021/22.

FOCUSED INITIATIVES – DEVELOPMENT OF ACADEMIES

    In AY2021/22, XJTLU will focus on the development of new academies as key and initial projects of ‘XJTLU Version 3.0’, including the Academy of Pharmacy (launched in Nov 2020), the Academy of Education (launched in May 2021), the Academy of Media and Creative Technologies (launched in May 2021) and other new academies/initiatives to be launched.

The XJTLU Annual Leadership Agenda aims to encourage institutional strategic thinking, develop a shared vision for the XJTLU community and provide context for all operational matters and all staff.

大学愿景

  • 研究导向、独具特色、世界认可的中国大学和中国土地上的国际大学

大学使命

  • 培养具有国际视野和竞争力的高级技术和管理人才;
  • 积极为经济和社会发展提供科技和管理服务;
  • 在人类面临严重生存挑战的领域有特色地开展研究;
  • 探索高等教育新模式,影响中国甚至世界的教育发展。

我们将研究与育人相结合,以改善人类生活质量为研究己任;以学生素养、能力和竞争力的提升为核心任务, 使我们的学生通过几年学习和训练,形成国际化的视野和参与国际竞争的实力,扎实和整合性的知识体系,积极的探索和创新精神,互动与合作的行为方式,主动的态度和坚实的执行力,使他们成为精通英语,诚信为人,富有创造性,具有强烈的个性和良好的团队精神,集学术知识、职业知识和职业道德伦理为一体的国际化高级管理和技术人才。”

席酉民教授 西交利物浦大学 执行校长

西浦年度战略要点

在大学的愿景和使命指导下,西交利物浦大学(下称“西浦”)每年都会发布年度战略工作要点,旨在推进组织的战略性思考,为大学发展建立共识,为组织运营提供具象化指引。

在整合各个学术部门和行政中心意见的基础上,经大学高管团队审阅 、大学董事会审批通过,在 2021/22学年,西交利物浦大学将重点关注以下工作要点。

总体战略

西浦过去几年的成功已经证明了战略蓝图“西浦2.0”的优势和价值。为与先前的战略目标保持一致,及应对后疫情时代中遇到的所有不确定性,并将西浦发展成为真正的“未来大学”,我们将努力实施“西浦3.0”的战略蓝图。这意味着在总体上和短期内,大学都将扮演催化剂和粘合剂的作用,与政府、企业、社区和其他相关机构共同合作,打造教育和创新生态。

“西浦3.0”的战略目标如下:

  • 将西浦打造成知名教育品牌
  • 促进和贯彻西浦的教育理念和思想
  • 建立和共享全球知识网络和资源
  • 在不同地域建立主题性学习、创新、创业卓越中心
  • 构建共生的教育和创新生态系统

核心主题

  • 教育
  • 西浦在线上教育和线下教育相结合的新背景下,通过严格的教学质量保证、全新的本科教学框架、完善的课程设置,以及为学生提供更广泛的教育选择,从而继续提高其本科教育的卓越水平。此外,大学将继续优先发展研究生教育(尤其是博士教育)。

    西浦将对标总体战略,探索和发展多元化的教育模式,包括:苏州工业园区校区将继续强化培养“具有行业背景的专业精英”的教育模式;西浦创业家学院(太仓)将探索培养“具有专业基础的行业精英”的教育模式;西浦也将积极与政府和企业合作,开创培养“数智时代具有行业背景和能力的工作者”的教育模式。

    此外,西浦还需要在2021/22学年推进西浦学习超市的建设,形成终身学习的文化,打造个性化、创新化、兴趣化的学习体验。学习超市旨在利用西浦庞大的全球网络在线教育资源和研究成果,结合校园实体设施,整合后疫情时代的线上和线下教育。

  • 科研
  • 西浦将以建设“科研导向”大学为目标,加快步伐,建设国际一流的科研实力,包括推动大学科研和创新平台如产学合作学院的发展、选聘更多教授担当科研带头人、与国内外机构合作探索有效的科研助推措施。

  • 社会服务与地区影响
  • 作为本地(苏州工业园区、苏州市乃至更广区域)的积极参与者和贡献者, 西浦将继续致力于增强与社会各界的合作,通过发展新学院、西浦智库以及其他研究和创新平台建立具体联系、增强社会影响,建设以共享、共生为特色的新型社区。

  • 教育行业影响力
  • 西浦成立之初的使命之一是“探索高等教育新模式,影响中国甚至世界的教育发展”。2021/22学年,西浦将在教育主管部门的支持下继续秉持这一使命,分享西浦最优实践,与其他高等院校紧密合作,共同促进高等教育从业者的行为改变。此外,西浦倡导终身教育,将继续探索对基础教育的积极影响。

其他关键主题

  • 国际化
  • 在后疫情时代,西浦将继续加快国际化进程。不可否认,新冠肺炎疫情的爆发对高校国际化建设造成了重大打击。然而,数字技术的快速发展也将明显通过在线教育帮助大学在短期内克服这一困难,重塑今后的教育和国际合作。

    我们期待在 2021/22 学年,通过探索新的战略性市场、建立伙伴关系网络、优化招生流程、梳理奖学金体系、探索更加灵活或混合式的教育体系、确保对国际学生保持专业和国际流动性的吸引力等方式,在国际教师招聘和国际生招生方面取得重大进展。

  • 招生与学生支持
  • 西浦将继续致力于招收有才能、能与大学核心价值观共鸣的学生,并为所有学生提供一切能帮助他们实现潜能的机会。2021/22 学年西浦将深化招生宣传工作,继续增长年度招生数;增强国内的招生宣传与沟通;从学术、就业和配套资源等各个方面为学生和校友提供支持。

  • 组织与教职工发展
  • 2021/22学年,西浦将通过分享学院和中心的运作经验,继续优化大学组织架构和治理结构,提升运营的效能和效率。

    西浦的教职员工和教辅员工都是大学的核心竞争力所在,我们将继续努力,将员工的职业发展与大学的组织成长紧密联系在一起。

  • 校园设施发展
  • 随着南校区的建设落成,西浦将在2021/22学年重点提升设施管理的专业水平,使校园成为一个安全、有活力、环境友好的学术社区。

    学校亦会就年度重点项目(见下章节)积极与政府协商,以支援校园设施的发展。

  • 信息管理
  • 西浦将信息视为重要资产之一,我们将在 2021/22 学年大力推进信息基础设施建设和信息管理平台建设。

年度重点项目——学院建设

    2021/22学年,西浦将把重点发展新学院作为“西浦3.0”的初始项目,包括西浦慧湖药学院(成立于2020年11月)、西浦教育学院(成立于2021年5月)、西浦媒体和创意科技学院 (成立于2021年5月)和其他将要建设的新学院/项目。

西交利物浦大学年度战略要点旨在推进组织的战略性思考,为大学发展建立共识、为组织运营和员工发展创造良好环境。