Achievements

To drive innovation, XJTLU encourages interdisciplinary research projects that allow important problems to be tackled from a variety of directions with complementary expertise.

Research

XJTLU aspires to be a research-led university and is already developing a reputation for research excellence. XJTLU researchers are actively engaged in collaboration with external units including local government, industrial partners, and institutions and universities at home and abroad. In the past years, XJTLU researchers have made great progress in obtaining governmental funding. By the end of July 2019, XJTLU has received more than 270 awarded projects. The total funding amount from government is around 55,000,000RMB.

As an international joint venture university, XJTLU encourages excellent international researchers to actively participate in National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) and has made impressive achievements. The successful rate of awarding International Young Scientist Fund of NSFC reaches to 30.77%, which is a very high rate among national universities. Meanwhile, the successful rate for awarded International Young Scientists Renewal Fund has reached 33%, which showing the high quality of international staff’s research. The international researchers also actively engage in the contribution to the local economic and social development. Many of their research focus on the hot or bottleneck issues of Suzhou and their research outcomes and proposed countermeasures provide valuable decision making reference to the local government.

In order to foster a supportive and excellence-based research environment, the University has made significant investments through establishing internal research funding programmes particularly to enhance the opportunities and the support for early-career researchers to initiate their research career at XJTLU and inspire them to seek governmental research funding. Since 2010, more than 350 academic staff has successfully received the internal research funding and the total funding amount is around 24 million.

To further enhance XJTLU research and societal impact to the local economic development, Key Programme Special Fund is established since 2017 which is financially supported by Suzhou Dushu Lake Science and Education Innovation District Administrative Committee (SEIDAC), Suzhou Industrial Park Science & Technology and Information Bureau (STIB) and XJTLU. Through the development of these key projects we hope to create a win-win situation for XJTLU, the society and the industry, and further XJTLU’s development as a research-led international university. During 2017 to 2019, more than 70 projects have been funded with the total funding amount of 33,820,000RMB. The applied technology and technology transfer programmes have helped researchers to build friendly and solid relationships with over 25 industrial partners from different fields.

科研成果

西交利物浦大学通过鼓励跨学科研究促进创新,通过学科间的互补寻求各领域重大问题的解决方案。

科研

西交利物浦大学致力于成为一所研究导向型大学,并已建立起了卓越的科研声誉。学校科研人员积极参与与地方政府、行业伙伴、国内外机构和其他大学等外部单位的合作。近年来,学校科研人员在申请获得政府资助项目方面取得了很大的进展。截至2019年7月底,学校已获得270多个资助项目,来自政府的资助金额约为5千5百万元人民币。

作为一所中外合办大学,西交利物浦大学鼓励优秀的外国研究学者积极参与国家自然科学基金项目的申报并取得了令人瞩目的成绩。西浦在外国青年学者研究基金项目的中项比率高达30.77%,在全国高校中处于较高水平。与此同时,我校外国青年学者研究基金延续项目立项率达到33%,,这显示了我校国际科研学者高质量的科研水平。另一方面,我校国际科研学者也积极为当地经济和社会发展作出杰出贡献,他们的研究多集中在苏州市热点或瓶颈问题上,其研究成果和提出的对策为当地政府提供了有价值的决策参考。

NSFC申请数量与立项数量

NSFC立项率

为了营造一个支持性和卓越的科研环境,西交利物浦大学大量投入科研资金设立了校内科研基金项目。该基金致力于为科研事业刚起步的校内年轻学者提供科研资金支持并以此为契机鼓励他们积极参与政府基金项目。自2010年以来,已有350余名学者成功获得校内基金项目,资助总额约达2400万元。

为进一步提高西交利物浦大学的科研水平,深化学校对本地经济发展的社会影响,自2017年起,由苏州独墅湖科教创新区管理委员会、苏州工业园区科技和信息化局和西交利物浦大学共同出资设立了重点建设专项项目。我们希望通过对这些重点项目的设立以及支持,为西交利物浦大学、社会和产业界创造双赢局面,并期望进一步增强西交利物浦大学作为一所国际化研究导向型大学的发展。2017年至2019年,共有70多个项目获得资助,总资助金额为33.82万元人民币,其中,应用技术和技术转移项目为我校科研人员与25个来自不同领域的行业伙伴建立友好和牢固关系提供助力。