Admissions
Check the entry requirements and find out how to apply:
CHINA - Mainland CHINA - Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan GLOBAL

Overview

As the world’s second-largest economy, China is going through a critical period of financial deregulation and vigorous development of its financial markets. The MSc Investment Management programme aims to provide graduates with solid financial, securities and investment knowledge, enabling them to pursue careers in this exciting and rapidly evolving sector.

The programme combines investment theory, professional knowledge, and skills, enabling students to analyse practical investment problems, solve portfolio management issues in practice, and help students become familiar with and use the data, tools and platforms commonly used in the investment industry. MSc Investment Management is officially accredited by the CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) Institute’s College Accreditation Program and covers the main content of CFA levels 1-3.

WHY STUDY INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT AT XJTLU?

  • Take advantage of the IBSS Financial Lab and Trading Floor located on campus, which gives you access to a world of data for study and research purposes, including data feeds from the Thomson Reuters EIKON system, Bloomberg Terminal, Wind Financial Terminal, BondIQ Fixed Income Terminal, Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS), and CSMAR Financial Database
  • Graduate with a degree recognised by the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute (CFA)’s University Recognition Program
  • Connect with industry through internship, networking and work experience opportunities
  • Earn a University of Liverpool degree that is recognised by the Chinese Ministry of Education.

DISTINCTIVE FEATURES

IBSS Refinitiv Financial Lab

The IBSS Refinitiv Financial Lab provides a widely-used database and platform in the financial industry, in which students can access company financial data and economic indicators and news, analytics, and productivity tools. These contents can equip students with professional knowledge and practices in the industry, such as Datastream, Workspace (previously Eikon platform), and Bloomberg. By self-studying the well-defined training modules/videos provided by Refinitiv (the previous Thomson Reuters) and Bloomberg, students have opportunities to obtain three certificates (i.e., Bloomberg, Datastream, and Workspace certificates) after successfully passing the online tests. This database training will enhance students’ macro and micro-analytical abilities based on current (real-time) as well as historical, financial, and economic data across global economies and financial markets.

RECOGNITION BY THE CFA INSTITUTE

The MSc Investment Management programme has been designed in accordance to the CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) Program Candidate Body of Knowledge™ (CBOK) and has been formally recognised under the CFA Institute University Affiliation Program.

DATA ANALYTICS WITH PYTHON

The MSc Investment Management programme has offered students opportunities to learn Data Analytics with Python. This course offers skills in applying machine learning algorithms and techniques to solve real-world investment problems, predictive modelling, regression analysis, and natural language processing for insights from financial news and reports. Students can utilize these skills in working with large data sets, data cleaning and manipulation, data visualization, and identifying patterns and trends. All acquired skills are critical for investment professionals, which can enhance students’ employability in the financial industry.

 

Knowledge and skills

By the time you graduate from the MSc Investment Management programme, you will have:

  • the programming skills required to access Wharton research data and China’s stock market transaction database, as well as technical expertise in finance and securities markets;
  • a deep understanding of the intricacies of contemporary economics and financial principles, and learn how to apply these principles to financial services, savings and investment decisions;
  • been given many opportunities to take advantage of the School’s extensive industry links with companies in Suzhou and Shanghai for your research and future careers, as well as the School’s own research centres;
  • accessed and conducted research on global financial markets with the help of a highly competitive on-campus financial laboratory, which is based on the cooperation between IBSS and Thomson Reuters, Bloomberg, Wander, the Wharton Research Data Center and the China Stock Market Transaction Database; and
  • been given additional communication and learning opportunities at 25 top schools worldwide.
This master’s programme combines finance and investment theories with professional knowledge and skills. The aim is to allow students to use advanced technologies to analyse real investment problems and solve portfolio management issues in practice. It helps students get sophisticated using the data, tools, and platforms commonly used in the investment industry and enhances their employability as potential financial analysts and fund managers in the financial industry.
Li Xie
Programme director

Modules*Programme modules listed are illustrative only and subject to change.


The university offers a broad range of activities aiming to enrich master students’ theoretical and experiential learning and professional development. Trainings, workshops and seminars, covering varieties of themes and topics, both generic and subject-specific, are often offered at both university and school/department levels. Additionally, IBSS programmes offer discipline- specific supplementary modules which will aid to broaden your knowledge in that specific field and enhance your skills. These would include opportunities to work as a teaching assistant, research assistant, or intern at XJTLU. Depending on the programme, field trips and company visits will be organized, and invited talks will be given by the industrial experts and professionals. All these activities will not only support you in your programme study, but also develop your personal and professional skills and enhance your overall career and employability.

Prior to starting the MSc Investment Management programme, my main interests lay in financial markets. The IBSS finance lab and the ability to gain an applied certificate gave me the opportunity to combine knowledge with practice. This experience also helped me greatly in finding a fulfilling job after graduation.
Meiting Shi
Alumna, MSc Investment Management, China

Careers

After graduation, our students will not only have the skills they need to work in the financial market, but also those required to pursue doctoral studies and academic research in the future. MSc Investment Management graduates go on to work for international banks, multinational companies, financial institutions, hedge funds, and a wide range of investment management companies.

关注西交利物浦大学官方微信 X

投资管理硕士

本专业教授学生金融市场、证券和投资管理的理论与策略。学生将了解当今经济和金融资本的复杂性,并学习如何将它们应用于金融协商、储蓄及投资等的决策中。此专业的设计迎合中国和亚洲地区银行,基金管理,监管部门和其他金融机构快速增长的需求。它旨在培养既具备专业知识又有对金融市场和投资管理深刻理解的专业人士。

投资管理硕士

概览

中国作为世界第二大经济体,正处在放宽监管、大力发展金融市场的关键时期。投资管理硕士专业旨在为毕业生提供扎实的金融、证券、投资知识,让毕业生能够在快速发展的金融市场中拥有良好的就业前景。

本专业将投资理论与专业知识和技能相结合,帮助学生熟悉和掌握投资行业常用的数据、工具和平台,使学生能够在实践中分析实际投资问题,解决投资组合管理问题。西浦国际

商学院投资管理硕士学位获CFA(特许金融分析师)协会的大学认可计划官方认证,涵盖了CFA(特许金融分析师)1-3级的主要内容。

为什么选择西浦投资管理硕士:

专业特色

-西浦国际商学院路孚特金融实验室

西浦国际商学院的路孚特金融实验室提供了一个在金融行业广泛使用的数据库和平台,通过该平台,学生可以访问公司的财务数据、经济指标和新闻、分析和生产力工具。这些内容可以为学生提供行业的专业知识和实践,如Datastream、Workspace(即之前的Eikon平台)和Bloomberg。通过自学Refinitiv (即之前的汤森路透) 和Bloomberg提供的培训模块和视频,学生在成功通过在线测试后,有机会获得三个证书(即Bloomberg、Datastream和Workspace证书)。该数据库以及平台培训将增强学生基于全球经济体和金融市场的当前(实时)和历史金融和经济数据的宏观和微观分析能力。

-获CFA(特许金融分析师)协会官方认证

西浦国际商学院投资管理硕士专业课程设计符合 CFA(特许金融分析师)计划候选人知识体系™ (CBOK),该学位已获CFA(特许金融分析师)协会的大学认可计划官方认证。

-使用Python学习数据分析

投资管理硕士课程为学生提供了使用Python学习数据分析的机会。本课程教授应用机器学习算法和技术来解决现实世界投资问题的技能,以及应用预测建模、回归分析和自然语言处理等方法从金融新闻和报道中获取洞见。通过学习该课程,学生可以使用这些技能来处理大型数据集、数据清理和操作、数据可视化以及识别模式和趋势。所有获得的技能对于投资专业人士来说都是至关重要的,这可以提高学生在金融行业的就业能力。

知识与技能

本专业毕业生将具备以下能力:

  • 具备访问沃顿研究数据和中国股票市场交易数据库所需的编程技能,以及金融和证券市场方面的专业技术知识;
  • 深入理解当代经济学和金融原理的复杂性,并学习如何将这些原理应用于金融服务、储蓄和投资决策;
  • 充分利用西浦国际商学院研究中心以及学院与苏州和上海公司的广泛行业联系,为自己的研究和未来的职业发展助力;
  • 西浦国际商学院提供给学生具有高度竞争力的金融实验室与交易平台,配备汤森路透EIKON系统、彭博终端、万德终端、沃顿研究数据和中国股票市场交易数据库,学生可充分利用这些资源了解和研究全球金融市场;
  • 在全球25所顶尖学院的额外交流和学习机会。

本专业将金融和投资理论与专业知识和技能相结合,使学生有能力运用前沿的技术分析实际的投资问题,在实践中解决投资组合管理问题,帮助学生熟悉和运用投资行业中普遍使用的数据、工具以及平台,这将增强学生在金融行业中作为金融分析师和基金经理的就业竞争力。

解立

专业负责人

课程

*课程信息仅供参考,具体将以实际开课信息为主。


西交利物浦大学为硕士生提供一系列的活动来丰富其理论学习、体验学习以及专业发展。学校、学院与系部通常会开设涵盖各种主题和专题的培训、工作坊及研讨会。此类活动不仅包括通用类主题,也包括与特定学科相关的各项专题。此外,西浦国际商学院还会提供与特定学科相关的附加活动,包括在西交利物浦大学担任助教,研究助理或实习生等机会,这将有助于拓宽你在特定领域的知识并提高你的技能。根据各专业的具体安排,学院和系部或有机会带领学生到企业或组织进行实地考察或访问,以及邀请学者和专业人士来开展讲座和研讨会。这些课程或活动不仅可以支持学生在硕士项目中的学习,而且还可以培养学生在未来就业和专业发展等方面的重要技能和能力。

我对金融市场方面的工作很感兴趣。进入金融实验室并获得证书使我有机会将知识和实践结合起来。一手的经验帮助我在毕业后找到一份十分满意的工作。

施梅婷

校友,投资管理硕士专业,来自中国

就业

本专业毕业生可获得在金融市场工作所需的技能,还可以为继续攻读博士学位和进行学术研究打下扎实基础。毕业生可就职于国际银行、公司和金融机构、对冲基金以及各种投资管理公司。

就业

进入申请系统

开始申请