Honorary Professors

We are very proud to be able to draw upon the expertise of our Honorary Professors.

Honorary Professors

Professor David Punter
Professor of Poetry
University of Bristol, UK

Professor Punter has published extensively on Gothic and Romantic literature; on contemporary writing; and on literary theory, psychoanalysis, and the postcolonial, as well as four volumes of poetry. He is Life Chair of the Executive Board of the International Gothic Association.

Professor Nicholas Roe
Wardlaw Professor of English Literature
University of St Andrew’s, UK

Professor Roe is the author of numerous critically acclaimed biographies and studies, including John Keats: A New Life, Fiery Heart: The First Life of Leigh Hunt, Wordsworth and Coleridge: The Radical Years, and John Keats and the Culture of Dissent. His two most recently published books are an edited collection, John Keats and the Medical Imagination (2017), and a revised and updated second edition of Wordsworth and Coleridge. The Radical Years (1988; second edition 2018). He is Chair of the Keats Foundation, and Trustee of The Wordsworth Trust and The Wordsworth Conference Foundation.