The School of Humanities and Social Sciences was established in September 2020 to research and educate across different disciplines in humanities and social sciences. The School, supported by over 80 staff from more than 15 countries, consists of five academic departments:

The School offers a wide range of degree programmes including

Undergraduate Programmes:

Postgraduate Programmes:

PhD Programmes:

The school offers PhD programmes in humanities and social sciences disciplines, including history, sociology, anthropology, politics and international relations, media and communication, linguistics, culture, and literature.

International visiting and exchange student programmes:

The School hosts the Year in China programme of University of Liverpool. The School also runs Diploma in China Studies.

Study Abroad programmes

The School offers opportunities for students who are interested in 2+2 programmes (with University of Liverpool), and study abroad programmes.

The School organises collaborative and collective research projects to explore interactions and dialogues between China and the rest of the world. The School also proactively engages with the wider academic, business and policy-making communities in the Yangtze River Delta region, as well as nationally in China and abroad.


The School offers opportunities for students who are interested in 2+2 (with University of Liverpool), study abroad and international visiting and exchange (Diploma in China Studies) programmes.

关注西交利物浦大学官方微信 X