Honorary Dean

Professor Qing Liu

Professor Liu is a Professor of Engineering, President of Jiangsu Industrial Technology Research Institute (JITRI), Executive President of Yangtze River Delta Advanced Materials Research Institute, President of Jiangsu Metal Society, and President of Jiangsu Entrepreneurship and Innovation Talents Federation.

In 1984, he graduated from Chongqing University with a bachelors degree in engineering. In 1987 and 1991, he obtained a masters degree and a PhD in engineering from Harbin University of Technology.

From 1991 to 1993, he engaged in postdoctoral research at University of Science and Technology Beijing. From 1993 to 2000, he was a visiting scholar, researcher and senior researcher at Risø DTU National Laboratory for Sustainable Energy, Denmark, conducting research in advanced metal materials.

From 1999 to 2006, he was a Professor at Tsinghua University, Deputy Director of the Key Laboratory of Advanced Materials and Director of the Institute of Metal Materials. Since 2006, he has been a professor at Chongqing University and serving as the Dean, Assistant President and Vice President of the School of Materials. In 2014, he was appointed as the Executive President of Jiangsu Industrial Technology Research Institute and presided over the Institute. He has been the president of JITRI since 2016.

As an expert in the field of materials, his research results have provided important technical support for the preparation and processing of high temperature superconducting materials, automotive light alloy materials, zirconium alloys for nuclear power, ultra-high purity metal targets for semiconductors and ultra-high strength steel wires. These research achievements have won multiple awards and accolades–including four first-place awards at the provincial and ministerial levels and two second-place entries of the National Science and Technology Progress Award—and have been featured in the “National Top 10 Science and Technology News”. Professor Liu has also received honours through the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, Changjiang Scholars, the National Excellent Teachers, and Advanced Scientific and Technological Workers.

Additionally, Professor Liu leads the innovation group at the National Natural Science Foundation of China for deformation, phase transformation, strengthening and toughening of metal materials as well as the innovation team in key fields at the Ministry of Science and Technology for basic research and engineering application of advanced metal structural materials.

He was also an expert in the field of new materials under the “863” programme of the Ministry of Science and Technology and the chief scientist of the “973” programme of the Ministry of Science and Technology. He founded Beijing Yingna superconductor technology Co., Ltd. and Eason Technology (Beijing) Co., Ltd.

Executive Dean


Huiqing Wen is a doctor and senior associate professor of XJTLU. He is the IET fellow. He received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China, in 2002 and 2006, respectively. In 2009, he received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China. From 2009 to 2010, he has been an electrical engineer working with the GE (China) Research and Development Center Company, Ltd., Shanghai, China. From 2010 to 2011, he was an engineer at the China Coal Research Institute, Beijing, China. From 2011 to 2012, he was a postdoctoral fellow at the Masdar Institute of Science and Technology, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

In 2013, Dr Wen joined the Electrical and Electronic Engineering Department of XJTLU, Suzhou, China. He served as the director for two master programs: MSc sustainable energy technology (MSc set) and MRes low carbon electrical power and energy technology (MRes LCEPET). He also served as deputy director of Smart and Green City Research Institute and deputy director of Suzhou Municipal Key Laboratory for New Energy Techniques. His main research fields include renewable energy, power electronics, smart grid, electric vehicles, and wide band gap semiconductor devices. He has published more than 100 SCI journal articles in the field of electrical and electronics, where more than 50 articles are IEEE transaction journals, such as IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics and IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics. He has published more than 30 JCR Tier 1 journal articles as the first author or corresponding author, and he has two highly cited articles. He served as the associate editor in three SCI international journals, including IEEE ACCESS, International Journal of Photoenergy, and Journal of Power Electronics. He has applied for more than 20 Chinese invention patents, where 10 have been authorized. He has secured more than 20 competitively funded research projects, including NSFC, Jiangsu Science Research Programme, Suzhou Prospective Application Programme, University-level projects, and industry projects. The total funding as the principal investigator has already over 4 million RMB. He has also supervised more than 30 doctoral and master students.

His main awards and honors include: in 2017, he won the second prize of Suzhou Scientific and Technological Progress. In 2018, he won the Provincial Authorized Patent for High-quality Industrial Invention. In 2019, he won the second prize of Suzhou Excellent Academic Paper in Natural Science. He was elected as a scientific and educational talent in Suzhou Industrial Park for three times (2017, 2018 and 2020). He was elected as a global outstanding reviewer of power electronics (IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics) in 2020. In 2020, he was elected as a member of the American Sigma Xi honorary scientific research society.

Operations Dean

Ms Wei Zhou

Zhou graduated from the School of Business, Nanjing University and joined Xi’an Jiaotong Liverpool University in 2013. She was previously deputy head of registry and is now the head of the graduate school and responsible for administration management, the enrolment of masters and doctoral students, and the management and support of postgraduate and postdoctoral students. Since April 2021, she has served as the Dean of Operations of XJTLU-JITRI Academy of Industrial Technology and is responsible for the daily management and operation of the academy.