Exchange and Partner Visiting Students

Exchange and Partner Visiting Students

Experience China

XJTLU makes China accessible for international exchange students no matter your study interest. With curriculum all taught in English, study areas include sciences, technology, engineering, mathematics, architecture and design, communications, media, business, humanities and social sciences – all combined with Chinese language and in-depth study of China, taught by some of Asia’s foremost experts.

Why study abroad in China?

You’ll have the opportunity to explore China’s vast and varied landscapes, ancient cultures and dynamic economic development from a prime location in the heart of China’s booming eastern corridor.


Study in English and learn Chinese. With both languages you are globally mobile and highly employable.

Cultural awareness

China represents a world of ideas and values built on one of the world’s oldest cultures. You’ll gain a new perspective on your own life and of those around you.

Fun and friendship

Studying abroad is fun! You’ll have new experiences and make friendships in China and with people from across the globe that will last a lifetime.

Career prospects

Develop an understanding of the world’s second largest economy and largest consumer market.


Blending one of Asia’s leading research and innovation hubs, a quirky old town with canals and willow-filled lanes, and a glitzy new town, Suzhou is a curious mix of the ancient and the hypermodern. Connected by bullet train to the centre of Shanghai and Beijing you will have a chance to experience the pulsing heart of east Asia.

Study routes

Students from one of our partner institutions listed below can apply for one semester or one academic year as an exchange student. Please contact the study abroad office at your university for more information about the opportunities available.

XJTLU partner institutions (non exhaustive list)

Exchange students will mainly study in SIP main campus. But we have another campus in Taicang (TC), which is 1.5 hours one way drive from Suzhou main campus. Students who want to study in Taicang can only select courses within Taicang.

Students normally study 10-20 credits per semester. Choose your modules (also known as classes or courses at other universities) in order of preference when you submit your selections to XJTLU. Please look at our module catalogue (please notice the information in the link might subject to change according to XJTLU timetable yearly updates) and specifications. Your module selections should be approved by your home university before you submit them to XJTLU.

1. An exchange/visiting student can study max. 1 Chinese Language module (CLT module) each semester, either 5 credits or 10 credits.
2. The following modules are not available for exchange/visiting students:
§ All CCT modules
§ All PHE modules
§ Level 0 modules, except CCS (China Studies), CLT (Chinese language) and SPA (Spanish language) modules.
3. Level 3 modules normally do not have resit chance (graduation year module), so pay attention when you select them.
4. Master’s modules are not available for undergraduate students.
5. Domain Code ends with TC means the module is offered in Taicang Campus. Some Taicang modules are subject “cannot” choose base on the nature of industry entrepreneurship.
6. Taicang modules are not open for SIP main campus students, vice versa.

You should apply for more modules than you need (we strongly recommend 40 credits per semester), in case we are unable to confirm your first choice because of timetabling clashes and/or module changes.

Module levels

The first number in the module code refers to the undergraduate level at XJTLU (0, 1, 2, and 3). Undergraduate degree courses at XJTLU are four years with general education covered in level zero. Degree-specific content is taught at levels one, two and three according to the typical three-year model in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Degree programmes

XJTLU England, Wales and Northern Ireland China
Level 0 Year 1
Level 1 Year 1 Year 2
Level 2 Year 2 Year 3
Level 3 Year 3 Year 4
Level 4 Master Master

Note: The first number for masters module codes is four. The first number for non-credit-bearing modules is nine.

How to apply

Exchange students should apply through their home institution’s study abroad office. The home university will then nominate students to XJTLU. After receiving the list of nominated students, XJTLU will invite each student to complete an application form.

Deadlines for autumn semester start

  • Home university sends nominations to XJTLU: 1 April
  • Students submit individual application to XJTLU: 1 May

Deadlines for spring semester start

  • Home university sends nominations to XJTLU: 31 October
  • Students submit individual application to XJTLU: 30 November


Once exchange students have accepted the offer letter, we will help student to apply visa supporting documents such as Jw202/DQ Form from China government. With these documents, you will be able to apply for a China student Visa (X Visa) at your local embassy/consulate.


Once exchange students have accepted the offer letters, the XJTLU Global team will book accommodation for students.

For more information about accommodation.

Tuition fees

Exchange students pay tuition fees as normal to their home institution. (some partners will have separate pay agreement with us, which means student will pay to XJTLU)


Exchange students should first contact their university’s study abroad office. Additional questions can be addressed to the XJTLU Study Abroad Office at

The experiences I had whilst living, studying and travelling in China have greatly enriched my life and placed me in a stronger position for pursuing future employment.

Jacob Wiltshire

Exchange student, United Kingdom